We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German food on the San Antonio river walk”

Schilo's Delicatessen
Ranked #32 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“German food on the San Antonio river walk”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The food is actually not bad. I've been to Germany so I can easily compare. However you get one side with your entrée. So I ordered Jaeger Schnitzel (mushroom gravy) I was told one of my two sides was the mushroom gravy. ??? Nevertheless, it was a good experience and nice atmosphere. My wife enjoyed the Polish Neighbor and she enjoyed.
**Closed on Sundays.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKPTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    496
    196
    50
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best root beer in San Antonio”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Schilo's was recommended by Tourist Information in Alamo Plaza. It is near the Riverwalk. We ate our breakfast here five mornings out of the seven we stayed in San Antonio and the food was consistently good apart from being on the cool side. We suggest you ask them to ensure the plates are heated otherwise you will not be able to linger over your breakfast.
Breakfast reasonably priced. Coffee $1.90 with free refills. Fantastic root beer $2.00 with one free refill. However, the quality of the root beer can vary, something to do with making it carbonated. I chose the oatmeal and you get much more than you do in McDonalds for $1.98 and it tastes so much better. It tastes like real porridge. It costs $3.90 and comes with raisins, brown sugar and milk. My friends enjoyed the potato pancakes and the country breakfast which came with hash browns (chopped fried potatoes) bacon and egg. The country breakfast was about $6.00. All the prices will have tax added.
The staff are very friendly and gave us information about attractions in and around San Antonio. Ask for Cindi, she is so helpful and friendly.
Don't go on Sunday, Schilo's is closed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We enjoyed both lucnh and breakfast”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a light lunch on a Saturday, and it was excellent food and service. I wasn't that hungry, so just ordered a green salad....what a salad....everything in it, and delicious. The home made root beer was a big hit.

Breakfast was also excellent on a different day, with excellent food and service again! The German style cooking was a hit.

This Deli has been around since the forties, and it's still going strong. Put it on your restaurant list in San Antonio.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HarveySm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
385 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great root beer, value, food and service”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Just walk up the steps from the riverwalk and it's right there! My mom had the root beer and said it was the best. Cindi was our server and she was great. Our whole breakfast with tip was $20. Don't hesitate to eat here. We may even stop for lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Less than stellar service”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I can't eat gluten which really limited my options for lunch. I basically ate green beans and coleslaw which isn't their fault. My service was TERRIBLE. I constantly had to flag him down. The restaurant was empty (tops 5 tables of people with two servers), but my server was too busy talking to another employee. I paid in cash and he gave me the wrong change. I have never been here before, but I doubt I would go back based on this experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deneesie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schilo's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Schilo's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing