We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Beto's Alt-Mex

Beto's Alt-Mex
Ranked #116 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is great. A very laid back atmosphere with good food. The staff is very friendly. The outside is a great place to let your kids run around while you enjoy your meal. You can also bring your dog to eat with you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SABoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    66
    23
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineral, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best empanadas!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

With so many restaurants to try, it's often hard to choose. I visit San Antonio often (since most of my family live here), and I have my favorite Mexican restaurants... I heard about Beto's on the show Diners, Drivins, and Dives, and decided I needed to try it. I have to say that everything we tried was excellent, including the margaritas. They are known for their empanadas, so of course that is what I tried. My mom and I split the pork and the chicken mole... both were superb. I wanted to try the chicken poblano, but they didn't have it on that day. Sadly someone had just broken into their restaurant the night before and caused a good bit of vadalizm. The staff rallied though and all pitched in to help the restaurant open by lunch. They staff was terrific and in good spirits despite the set back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kgcpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Empanadas and Fish Tacos!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the second time I have eaten here...the fish tacos are amazing...homemade corn tortilla, chunks of grilled fish, and a creamy sauce on the shredded cabbage. Also had the chicken poblano empanada...could have used a bit more poblano, but excellent nonetheless. Also tried some of my companion's chicken mole empanada...pretty good, even though I'm not a fan of brown mole. Rice is OK, beans are almost charro style. Finished with an empanada filled with bananas and cream quemada (cajeta)...yum! This place is busy all day, but you can usually get a table after a short wait. The food can sometimes take a bit, but that's because they MAKE it, not defrost it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SA Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice change from the norm.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant after seeing an episode about it on t.v. The place must be good because we arrived mid afternoon and it was packed! Did not wait long though, about 10 minutes. Service was very nice and friendly and took our orders promptly. We had the empanada combo plates. The food was very tasty and we really enjoyed the change from the usual tacos, rice and beans. Overall, the prices were average. If you want good Latin food and are tired of the same old foods, I would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Triple D Got It Right”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

fantastic local place. Super service. Everything was great except the fish taco's which are the best I've ever had at a restaurant. They were better than fantastic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beto's Alt-Mex also viewed

 

Been to Beto's Alt-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing