We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok. Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Vatel

Bistro Vatel
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Vatel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #485 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok. Not Great”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The atmosphere does not add to your dining pleasure. Food is good. Reasonable wine selection. Some interesting appetizers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tgates5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
368 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Back to Form...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had stayed away from Bistro Vatel for several years as a result several rather mediocre experiences but decided to go back and try them again. Tonight's meal was outstanding. Appetizers of bacon wrapped seared scallops were divine as was Lobster Thermidor (both were RICH!). The Lamb Roulade was both interesting and nicely done as were the Apple Tarts with Ice Cream (house made). The food was consistent throughout and places Vatel back near the top of the food pyramid in San Antonio. The decor has been freshened since our last visit and is more appealing. And our waiter was better than last time but he did bring us the wrong appetizers! Biggest negative is that wine prices are high. However, one does not come here for a bargain meal and the overall package is quite good. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A consistent quiet elegance”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food is consistently excellent and the service attentive. The ambiance is low key but appropriate

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank robal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Have been going there since it opened. At dinner last night we had our regular...watercress salad and dover sole. Loyal wait staff is very attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK if you're a regular”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I went on a friday night. The place was busy. We had reservations and were immediately seated at a nice table in a quiet corner in the back. A harried-looking woman was our server, and as she was going over the menu with us, an older man came up and stood behind her, trying to get her attention. She asked him to wait while she finished with us, then greeted him effusively. Apparently, he is a regular customer, which is fine, except he kept getting visits from the staff who kept coming up, and he would stand up and talk loudly to them about a very ill relative. Finally, I had had enough, and asked very politely if there were any other available seats. We just didn't want to be privy to this man's private party that seemed to be going on. I realize the restaurant couldn't help it--it's a neighborhood place, and the clientele clearly are "regulars," and the staff want to keep them happy. It appeared to me as if there were plenty of other empty tables, but they waited until another party left, then moved us to their table--without bread and butter, without a napkin, without the menu, etc. We sat, and sat, and sat, and sat. The waitress had not even taken our drink orders, much less answered questions we had about the menu.

Our waitress was scattered, and kept going to the front door greeting people, and visiting. Finally, she came back to our table and asked if we were ready to order--we only had the menus for a couple of minutes, and then they took them away when we moved tables! We said we would like to order wine, and from then on, the service got better. In fact, she apologized, and said they were known for their "impeccable" service, and gave us a gratis dessert.

As for the food, I ordered the bouillabaisse, and it was delicious. I also ordered the mussels, and they were fishy and bland. My husband had the lobster which was boring. The creme brûlée was custardy--not creamy, and the sugar was too burned.

Overall, not worth the money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank macfamilysanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Vatel also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Vatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing