We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit of Elegant Mexican Dining in San Antonio”
Review of La Fonda on Main

La Fonda on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
La Fonda on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 4,622 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Woodlawn
Description: Located just a few minutes from downtown in architecturally rich Monte Vista, La Fonda on Main is the oldest Mexican food restaurant in San Antonio. La Fonda serves both the best of Tex-Mex cuisine as well as authentic dishes of interior Mexico in a fun and casual setting with beautiful patio dining. Open daily serving lunch and dinner as well as a memorable Sunday brunch menu, we offer a full bar with a wide variety of liquor, beer and wine. Our famous margaritas are made with hand-squeezed limes and your choice of a large selection of tequilas.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Bit of Elegant Mexican Dining in San Antonio”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being in Texas, of course La Fonda on Main has some Tex-Mex dishes which are great. But where they really shine is with their Mexican regional dishes. My wife's favorite is the Camarones a la Veracruzana. Mine is the Puntas de Filete.

The atmosphere is tranquil and beautiful, especially their enclosed open-air patio. Casual, friendly elegance is the watchword!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    209
    50
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

At the end of the evening I had to talk to the manager to thank him for such a wonderful experience. The food was fabulous and the service was outstanding. All the staff went above and beyond to make sure that all the friends and family present had an outstanding meal and experience.

I plan to go back there next time I am in San Antonio and I highly recommend taking the time to go there to really enjoy a meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on our trip to San Antonio”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Don't miss a trip to La Fonda! Even if you have to leave River Walk to do it, you won't be sorry. We ate (too much) all over the area during our stay and this was definitely the best!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MistyK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“True Mexican food & lovely patio, but.......”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

La Fonda on Main is the original old house with the great patio & huge oak tree. This is real mexican food as opposed to Tex-Mex. The ambiance is wonderful but the service is a little slow. Too bad you can only get rellenos on Wednesdays for some reason.The cheese & veggie stuffed poblanos were very underseasoned and crunchy. The chicken mole was tasty although also a bit bland. Their house special taco & 2 enchiladas plate is nothing special. It's a shame with such a beautiful property that the overall experience isn't better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBBokky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The best thing about La Fonda is the gorgeous patio, which is always crowded. It's a very popular spot....much more atmosphere than the indoor dining area. The food is more gourment Mexican than Tex-Mex. We've had very good meals here, however, this time I just ordered wrong. I love poblanos, so I ordered the chile relleno, which the menu said was stuffed with chopped tenderloin. I know sometimes raisins are added to chile rellenos at some restaurants and this did have a few. The unpleasant surprise was chopped pecans were added...not good in this dish. Pecans belong in a pie. I think they cut way back on the amount of meat by adding pecans.....too weird. The Margharitas and Mojitos are great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda on Main also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing