We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”
Review of La Fonda on Main

La Fonda on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
La Fonda on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 4,628 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Woodlawn
Description: Located just a few minutes from downtown in architecturally rich Monte Vista, La Fonda on Main is the oldest Mexican food restaurant in San Antonio. La Fonda serves both the best of Tex-Mex cuisine as well as authentic dishes of interior Mexico in a fun and casual setting with beautiful patio dining. Open daily serving lunch and dinner as well as a memorable Sunday brunch menu, we offer a full bar with a wide variety of liquor, beer and wine. Our famous margaritas are made with hand-squeezed limes and your choice of a large selection of tequilas.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I were in town for the weekend and had arranged to meet some friends for dinner. He suggested this as "local favorite". My initial reaction was oh gosh, not another Mexican restaurant in San Antonio! We had already indulged on several good Mexican meals the two days previously and didn't really think we wanted that again for our last night in town. Big mistake.
The food and service were outstanding. I had the stuffed tenderloin and you could literally cut it with a fork. True melt in your mouth goodness! My wife ordered the new #7 special and just loved it as well.
The chips and salsa weren't my favorites for the weekend, but acceptable and more than offset by the great friendly waiter and outstanding entrees. Judging by the massive crowds here on a Friday night, it is quite poplar.
If you're going to be staying downtown or near the river walk, this is located a very easy 10 minute car or cab ride away and gets you out of he massive crowds and chains on the river walk. I will definitely come back next time in town. Be sure to make a reservation for a weekend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Team10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    211
    51
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We went to this restaurant at the recommendation of our B&B hosts. It turns out that my father and his parents, who lived in San Antonio in the 1930's, also loved this place! The food was really good. Not the usual Tex-Mex cheese laden fare, but it seems to me that it was really authentic. And totally delicious! The waitstaff was helpful and accommodating, and the atmosphere was pleasant.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaineAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Trip Back to 1925 San Antonio”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

La Fonda on Main is surrounding by homes and buildings from the neighborhoods "glory years of 1885 to 1925. Walking into the restaurant, or sitting on its quaint patio feels like a visit to another era. Some of the staff have been at La Fonda for over four decades, and some of the customers have been coming for decades as well.

The people who work at La Fonda's make you feel like guests, not customers. The service is warm, efficient, and friendly. The food is "hit or miss". Some dishes are exceptional, and some are boring, or mediocre. Most regular customers have figured out what La Fonda's does well, and stays with those items. Personally, I like the fajitas and the cactus salad...both of which go well with ice cold cerveza.

Although most customers seem to be AARP members and dress well, the staff has never blinked when we showed up with a very casual dressed kid.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed at the 1908 Ayers House b and b around the corner so loved walking to this wonderful restaurant (short walk). Were seated in the courtyard/patio area where we experienced great atmosphere with large oak tree, romantic lighting and outside heaters to keep it comfortable. Ordered margueritas which were great. I had the chicken mole that was fantastic! Wife had the enchiladas with verde sauce which was also very good. Service excellent and prompt. Highly recommend for a great romantic dinner. Leave the kids at home. Best mole I have ever eaten!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank impromptutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, Traditional Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A San Antonio favorite! I highly recommend for a nice, romanctice dinner or fun with some friends.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TripvilleTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda on Main also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing