We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wife's Birthday Dinner”

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #91 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wife's Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife enjoys Saltgrass a lot. This is the place she chose for her birthday. We went on our normal family birthday dinner. We had made a reservation, although we arrived early enough that it was not needed.

We started with the stuffed jalepeno's (Range Rattlers?). This was the first time we had them. My son and I enjoyed them a lot. We all had steak for dinner. All steaks were good although my wife had to return hers to be cooked longer. It was clearly rare rather than medium. It was easily resolved though.

We have eaten here many times. Never disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satxsptsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    119
    54
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Meade, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a good value”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Service was pretty good, and though not great, the food as a whole was pretty good. My big complaint is that everything seemed really overpriced. For them to charge was much or more than some of the nicer restaurants in San Antonio did not make sense to me. Also, I got the crab and avocado appetizer and it was expensive, messy to eat, and tasted very bland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissPrecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Steak or Seafood...a Great Choice”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband wanted a Texas size steak....I am a seafood eater. Saltgrass Steak House did not disappoint! Right on the Riverwalk the location is great. Husband had an enormous ribeye with the baked sweet potato and he is still talking about how juicy and delicious it was. I had the Salmon Oscar w/Garlic Mashed Potatoes and it was the best salmon I have had in a restaurant in a very long time. A large filet, moist and declious, with just the right amount of Oscar sauce with chunks of real crab. It's not often a steak place does both steak and seafood well - a definate win/win!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellojoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food for price and great service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate dinner at the Saltgrass on the Riverwalk. Great steaks for the price, cooked exactly as ordered. The service was awesome. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Steakhouse”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really nice place, looks amazing inside and outside.
Food was good and more than enough, portions are huge.
I had the porterhouse just the way I wanted
Service was very good, everyone is keeping an eye on what you need
My boss was happy for the cowboy he got, so it was worht the visit

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fbezamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing