We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Tex-Mex”
Review of El Mirador

El Mirador
Reserve with OpenTable
El Mirador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #448 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Arsenal
Description: Breakfast, bronche, lonche y dinner, flavor and pasión infuse every bite of our classic Mexican cooking, considered by many to be the best in a city famous for Mexican food. The newly renovated El Mirador serves Doña Maria’s signature dishes, updated menu items and a tempting array of cocktails. Welcome back to El Mirador!
San Antonio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Tex-Mex”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Delicious Carne Asada with a smoky flavor. Perfectly cooked fluffy Spanish Rice paired with seasoned Refried Beans, a Cheese Enchilada and two home made flour tortillas. Great place for Real Food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    67
    29
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Horrible, never again”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was invited to lunch there. Food was tasteless, greasy, just awful. The soup was tepid, like water with vegetables, not good at all. I would never return to this restaurant, not even as a guest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Truly the best Mexican Restaurant in South Texas”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Upon turning sixty years old /i was posed the question:"Where would you like to have your birthday dinner?"

Without any hesitation I said,"At El Mirador of course!
Living in San Antonio for 30 years I have tried most,if not all of the Mexican restaurants in town.Maria Trevinoand her family provide:great food,excellent srevice and authentic mexican culture at his clean and comfortable location just off of downtown San Antonio

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkmkakektk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not good Mexican food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was good place to eat in the seventies when the original family owned it.
I Order nachos and the cheese was horrible and chewy. Order Fajitas and it did not come out sizzling you could tell that it was precooked and then just warmed up. The waitress was really not friendly or seemed like she wanted to wait on anybody. I went at 1pm and they only had two people working floor and 5 standing around in kitchen. Do not waste your money or time at this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“grabbed takeout and wow!!! wish I had more”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

they have pasteles on the menu. I grabbed some to go and wow, how they can do such a good job...where did they find yaultia?

The atmosphere was great, laid back and nice. I can't wait to go and sit for dinner, and grab some to go food again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DroppingIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mirador also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing