We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Food/Ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boudro's on the Riverwalk

Boudro's on the Riverwalk
Ranked #18 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good Food/Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Restaurant is right on the Riverwalk with twosome tables right on the river.
When convention is in town, need reservations. Not a big place.
Guacamole made at the table was great.
Food overall was very good and service was very good.
Thought it'd be more Cajun but was more Bistro food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,741
    915
    342
    111
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but CROWDED and NOISY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Starting with the food, the enchiladas were on par with the best I have had anywhere. The lime chess pie, however, was one of the best desserts I have had. It was simply perfect.

My wait staff, too, was top notch. They knew the menu, and they were very informative. I don't think I ever asked for anything as they anticipated every need. Very well done.

Three complaints. First, the tables on the patio were so close that I could have eaten off the plates of those nearby with no trouble whatsoever. They could lose 20% of the tables and improve the ambiance 100%. Second, there was construction across the Riverwalk, so lunch was impossibly noisy. Third, like every other place I visited on the Riverwalk, this place has no draft beer. Why?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TNTROUTTHNTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Everything that we ate was amazing!! Not cheap though!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

On a girls trip celebrating a friends birthday we ate at Boudros. Because we called at the last minute, the earliest reservation was 8:30. Worth the wait. From the tableside guacamole with orange juice in it to the duck/sausage gumbo to the scallops to the three kinds of duck to the lime dessert was amazing. My three friends and I we so impressed with the consistent excellence of the food and the service. The ambience is quite nice as well, more bistro. When we sang Happy Birthday to our friend a large table of other customers joined in. It's pricey but if you are looking for a special night out with awesome food, highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank libba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great fun on the river walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a dinner there on a recent Saturday night.
Sat outside by the river and enjoyed people watching. it was a little cool, but the heaters and blankets kept the chill away.
My wife is a celiac, but there were no issues at all.
The table side guacamole was fabulous, only problem was we could have had about 2-3 more orders.
The staff were friendly and service was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local Prize”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

A bit noisy and crowded, but the Tex-Mex style food was delightful, and the service was excellent, given the crowds at the place. The waiter made the guacamole from scratch at the table. It was delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarbleJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boudro's on the Riverwalk also viewed

 

Been to Boudro's on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing