We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Liberty Bar

Liberty Bar
Ranked #60 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Arsenal
Description: Serious Food in the heart of Southtown.
Brighton, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

After reading some very positive reviews, I went here with a friend for lunch. My expectations may have been too high but still, it failed to make a great impression on me. The atmosphere is nice and the service excellent but it failed at the most basic part. That is, the food was not amazing as i expected. I had the lamb sausage with Aïoli-Morita which came with grilled tomatoes and potatoes. The sausage was good but not exceptional as I expected and the potatoes were so underdone that the whole side dish was a loss. With so many other great experiences so close by, it'll be difficult to give this place another try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    121
    40
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Neches, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Combination of Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The service, the setting and the food were outstanding. Located in a beautifully restored building in the King William District, the restaurant has a large and varied menu with both unique and well known dishes. They also have a very good wine list with a large selection available by the glass. All of our party ordered different items and they were all prepared and presented well. I had a daily special, pasta Luego...they make their own pasta...with housemade sausage, mushrooms and onions in a cilantro based sauce and my son had the shrimp pasta with spicy Morita sauce. They were both excellent. My wife ordered a grilled redfish, which was also quite good. My sister had the grilled duck salad with apples and walnuts while her husband had the lamb plate. They both enjoyed their dinners. The next time we are in town, we plan to return. This could become a habit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great building, good food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The food here was great. Really enjoyed the thin crispy pizza with tomato, olives and basil, and the apple, Stilton and walnut that came with the lamb. They had good wine by the glass - particularly like the Charles de Fere sparkling wine - but the service was a bit too relaxed eg one glass of wine arrived just as finishing the main course when it had been ordered as main course arrived.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kakiteano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip K, Public Relations Manager at Liberty Bar, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Kakiteano!

Thanks for your kind words about our building and for. Also, thanks so much for the feed back on the service. Hope to see you back if you are ever back in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So Classy”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

From the waitress to the food, this restaurant is always top notch..The old place was awesome and the new location near the King Wiliam district is even better. I love the homemade bread, the colorful greens in the salad and the menu that is so varied but not overwhelming. I had one of the specials, crabcakes. My spouse had a chicken sandwich. Both were excellent! I will return to this restaurant next time I'm in San Antonio.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvthebeach32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A staple in San Antonio”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always so good. Lots with interesting flavor combinations ....still great with new location. One of my favorites in South Town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip K, Manager at Liberty Bar, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words Pat. We can't wait to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Bar also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing