We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty, quiet”

Las Canarias Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 4,648 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very tasty, quiet”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We walked along the Riverwalk to get here and it was lovely. A late night business dinner. We had a table near the front. Service was attentive, not over the top - servers did miss a few things (bread plates). The pappardelle with mushrooms was plentiful and very tasty - I shared. Others had the salmon (I had a mouthful) and it too was lovely. We shared a caramel bread pudding - just enough crunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    188
    51
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Its hard to dislike this place. We only tried it for breakfast but the service is excellent. Iced water glass refilled as you empty it, black tea served in a pot of hot water with its own triangular shaped teabag (Tea in America!) Good buffet breakfast, chef cooking omelettes to order, linen napkins.
OOOOOh!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meg107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best meal in Texas”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lovely setting on the Riverwalk.
Delightful helpful staff.
Unhurried atmosphere- very romantic.
Great food- the 3 course menu is good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank royTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We ate the Chateaubriand for two and it was fantastic. This was a special trip for us so the dinner was worth the cost. We looked out over the river and shared a bottle of wine. Food and service were excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best meal in SA”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

After trying many other places on the Riverwalk, this place is by far the best. Granted it is a little pricey, but not that much more than the tourist traps and for much better quality and service. I had the pork belly and cauliflower side which was fantastic. Definitely recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank Carley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing