We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional, reliable, consistent and good service”

Las Canarias Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“traditional, reliable, consistent and good service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The service is prompt and respectful. The food very well prepared in a non pretentious sort of way. The ambiance ad decor are subdued and conducive to a good experience. Reasonably priced and with a very good wine list

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juli0Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    188
    51
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, GA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Riverview parade”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the second time we attended the Christmas Riverview Parade and had dinner before the parade. This year they had a buffet instead of a sit down menu which was good, but the seating at the parade was a bit of a disappointment. No one told us that we could put our name on the seats so when we went down to watch the parade the seats we would have liked had names on them as reserved. The reservation said first come first served on seating. Very disappointing. We probably will not use them in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is my go-to fine dining restaurant in San Antonio without the stuffiness and snobbery. Food is consistently good through the years that I've been coming here. The portions are just right -- not too small not too big. Attentive, friendly service. The 3-course tasting dinner menu for $45 or $55 with wine pairing I thought was very reasonable. We had the short rib on polenta entree and the meat just melts in your mouth sans the grease. Everything was perfectly seasoned and delightful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler43Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome brunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

At $42, including unlimited sparkling wine, this is a steal. Amazing food, amazing views if you are seated on the patio. The hotel/restaurants could use a make over however, its pretty old school style. But I will never come to San Antonio again (I live in Atlanta) and not do the champagne brunch at Las Canarias! Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Champagne brunch is great”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The champagne brunch is pricey, but worth it for the variety of food and free mimosa refills. The ambience is great whether outside or inside. There is live Spanish guitar inside and the patio is hard to beat for location. The variety of food is truly stunning and it is a dining experience not to be missed in San Antonio in my opinion. Can't comment on the dinners but the Sunday brunch has become a tradition for us when we are in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aktravelseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing