We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST eat at when visiting the Riverwalk”

Las Canarias Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
BILLINGS
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A MUST eat at when visiting the Riverwalk”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We LOVE this restaurant, from start to finish it was excellent. The service impeccable and the food is second to none. We loved that a wine steward helps in choosing wine from the extensive list. Choice of sparkling or plain water--love. We shared the cheese board starter and it was marvelous with 3 cheeses changing seasonally. The table across from us saw our and ordered the same =]. A Lime/Basil palette cleanser from the chef was perfect.
had the Duck entree and it was the best I've eaten--moist, flavorful. My husband had the Tenderloin and it was cooked to perfection--hailing from Montana, he's a little picky.
Save room for dessert and order the Chocolate Cake with Cherry Sorbet to share--YUMMO!
#1-- If you make reservations, which we recommend, ask for inside seating if in July -August and a window seat. Wonderful in the air conditioning over looking Riverwalk.
We WILL return!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    188
    51
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Las Canarias”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been several times most of the time for Sunday Brunch - I love their food and the atmosphere. I particularly love the Hollandaise sauce.

Helpful?
Thank Viki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Taste and Elegance!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was fantastic! We had their breakfast and brunch buffets, best I've had yet! There was nothing to dislike at all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizsRoad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Breakfast is Beyond!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had two very disappointing experiences in restaurants on the Riverwalk so we weren't expecting much when we went looking for a good breakfast.

Service was excellent! Our waiter never let our coffee get cold! We all ordered off the menu but a breakfast buffet is also available. The Malted Waffle was simply amazing. It was served with carmelized pecans, strawberries, cream and syrup on the side. The Huevos Rancheros were not your typical and the were AWESOME! It was a unique twist on an old tradition which left me pleased and full!

It was a wonderful dining experience and the next time I have to be in San Antonio, I will make a point to go have breakfast at Las Canarias!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has a wonderful view overlooking the Riverwalk. I had the duck which was delicious. For desert, Tres Leches Cheesecake.So incredibly good! This place gets high marks for service, ambience, food and drink. But of course, when you get the bill, you see why. It is pricey, as is most dining options on the Riverwalk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThreeofUs1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing