We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful lunch on the patio - even in the heat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guenther House

The Guenther House
Ranked #15 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Arsenal
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch on the patio - even in the heat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sat outside under a large canopy with cool miosters, and it was delightful despite 95' reps. Chicken salad is chunky and very tasty. My server recommended it on a toasted grain bun with provolone, and I said OK. Turned out to be large and tasty. Ranch dressing to dip in was awesome - not sure if made there, but its darn good. Had brewed papaya iced tea on a whim and it was superb. Very good, not-to-intrusive service and the setting on the Guenther grounds is delightful. Green lawn along the river with mature crepe myrtles, a nice breeze, cool misters, and a delightful lunch at excellent price - about $10 total.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulLovesGravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    279
    108
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We decided to wait until Monday to have breakfast here because the wait on the weekend was very long. The grounds of the Guenther House are beautiful...if the weather permits, sit out on the patio and enjoy the surroundings. I ordered the strawberry waffle which was fluffy, sweet and perfectly cooked. The boys ordered the Pioneer Breakfast which was two eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes a biscuit and gravy. It was huge! The biscuit was amazing, light and buttery. The food was delicious and the portions were truly to big to finish, the service was attentive and friendly. The Guenther House is a sure hit and the area surrounding it is amazing if you want to walk your meal off.

Helpful?
Thank Azalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We had to wait 60 minutes to get a table, but it was well worth the wait! We got the Pioneer Platter, and it was amazing. Eric made certain that our glasses got empty. A must try if you are ever in San Antonio.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Long wait to be seated - but excellent food & service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I would rate this restaurant Excellent if not for the hour wait to be seated. The food was excellent and we had excellent service too! Very beautiful area on the Riverwalk near the King William Historic District - Also worth a trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milestonecruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A breakfast to always add to the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

My friend took me to breakfast over a year ago when I was visiting San Antonio. When I returned home, I told my husband....the next time we are in San Antonio....we must go to breakfast! Beautiful setting, delicious food and a deep breath to start the day. We will always make a top for breakfast when we are in the area....we shared the breakfast plate and strawberry sweet cream waffles....yum....yum...it is plenty of food for two. The coffee is delish! The prices are reasonable for the setting and quality of food...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guenther House also viewed

 

Been to The Guenther House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing