We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of The Guenther House

The Guenther House
Ranked #14 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Arsenal
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went here for Sunday Brunch. The biscuits are HUGE! and super delicious. We were so full and didn't get one of the sweets but they looked yummy and were HUGE as well. This is not on the River Walk but it is not that far. About 25 minutes walking and 5 minutes driving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpaDiva73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    292
    110
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Go early in the morning to avoid waiting in line. The breakfast was wonderful I had the strawberry waffles...to die for. Have a cup of their house coffee it was delicious. Inside there is a nice gift shop. I almost forgot about the bacon, yummy!!! If you're ever in San Antonio this place should definitely be on your to do list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeshiaS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good restaurants have waits”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Plan around the wait. Either avoid it by choosing a slower time or be prepared for it. Our wait was an hour, about what we expected. The breakfast menu was rather short which I liked because I didn't have to mull over everything. There were plenty of ala carte choices so you could get what you want. The food was very good and, surprisingly to me, the prices were quite reasonable for such a restaurant. A large, not-from-concentrate OJ was 2 bucks, a huge departure from the normal price gouging for good juice. Our party of 3 and a baby shared a $32 bill before tip. Our waiter Eric was very professional and attentive. He provided excellent service especially considering the baby and Sunday brunch ops.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmSarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, beautiful atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pancakes, breakfast tacos were had by our group and all was fantastic. Most reasonable pricing and great service. The bakery offerings were beautiful, but maybe next time. They use many of the flour products that are milled in the building next door. The location, on the river is beautiful also. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank azb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Got there early on Sunday morning thought they had to much staff, but within 45 minutes there was a waiting line. Great food a great value. What a wonderful place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morrisondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guenther House also viewed

 

Been to The Guenther House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing