We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger Heaven”

Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers
Ranked #41 of 4,648 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Burger Heaven”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Huge portions (plan to share if you aren't too hungry). Local institution worth a visit. Very limited menu, but what they serve is tops.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mayfaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    142
    61
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Just Keeps on Giving”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I moved from San Antonio 23 years ago. One of the things I missed about San Antonio was Chris Madrids and all the fun we had there on a Friday or Saturday night. Now I'm older and wiser but I still love this place. We go back to Chris Madrid about twice a year now and the food is as good as ever. My wife and kids love it also. We were there on Christmas Eve and the line was long but more than worth the wait. The cheddar cheese burger and the jalapeno burger are the best. But don't overlook the nachos and the tostado. The fries were wonderful and the beer was cold. Greatest burgers I have tried.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowlett9105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chris Madrid's- Hamburger Legend”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A few days ago I returned to eat at one of my all time favorite hamburger joints- Chris Madrid's in San Antonio Texas. If you are traveling on IH 10 towards town, you exit at Hildebrand then go 3 blocks south to Blanco Rd, turn right and it's down on the left. The hamburgers are by far the best around, winning many awards such as "Best Burger in the city" 2000-2007. You can get a regular burger with cheddar cheese and whatever you want on it. I always get the "Macho size" Flaming Jalapeno burger. The fries are my favorite of any restaurant, crispy outside but soft inside. You can get the burger dressed many different ways. The burger meat is, and has always been, the tastiest of any around. The atmosphere is great. They have sort of antique items on the wall and is very casual. They also have a full bar in the back with ice-cold long necks and frozen margaritas. If you visit San Antonio you must visit one of their famous landmarks- Chris Madrid's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fairly unimpressed”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had planned to eat at Armadillo's but it was closed so my friend who is from San Antonio suggested Chris Madrid's.
You stand and look up at the menu for what burger you want. I already had my heart set on a mushroom swiss burger.......you can't get one here. They don't exist. So I got a cheeseburger with everything on it and a beer. She got a burger with jalapenos and some fries. The meat for the burgers is really thin but is covered with a ton of cheese. The french fries were just terrible, appeared to be handcut but were just floating in grease.
We tried to sit outside but between the smokers and the flies, that went out the window. The ambience inside is interesting to look at but I don't think I will ever eat here again. There are just so many better burger places to go to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austntachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Cheddar Burgers Are Way to Go”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

As always burgers are great and the fries are fresh and large enough to share between two people. Great location to eat and watch the San Antonio culture.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing