We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service IS as good as the food”
Review of Biga on the Banks

Biga on the Banks
Reserve with OpenTable
Biga on the Banks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 4,736 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Market St.
Transit: Biga is located in the center of downtown San Antonio. Though we are walking distance from most downtown hotels, we are also conveniently located for any who wish to use the city's public transportation.
Description: Overlooking a quiet bend of the San Antonio Riverwalk, but within walking distance of all Downtown hotels and the Convention Center, Biga on the Banks highlights the daily changing menu of Chef Bruce Auden, the most frequently James Beard nominated Chef in San Antonio. Menu features seafood, steaks, lamb and wildgame with a preference for local and sustainable product, but do leave room for the Sticky Toffee Pudding.With high Zagat ratings Biga is an ideal venue for a romantic dinner for 2 or has impressive private dining rooms to entertain clients.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have lived in San Antonio for a very long time, and have heard over and over how good the food was at Bigas. When my mother-in-law came to town, we decided to take her to dinner, and we were not sorry! The ambiance is lovely, the appetizers and drinks were scrumptious, as was our dinner. Our waiter was lovely, and although they were busy, we never felt like we were being forgotten or just another table. I am sorry some of the reviewers did not have our meal or service. I would recommend giving them another try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AuntBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biga B, General Manager at Biga on the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

So nice to know you all enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 716 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I went last week for business and after all day meetings this is a very nice place to be, great food great wine, including the bar I recomend it.

Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biga B, General Manager at Biga on the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

You've got great taste! Thanks for the encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Biga is our go-to restaurant when we are celebrating a special occasion or want a romantic dinner.
Food is of the highest quality and the service is always impeccable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biga B, General Manager at Biga on the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

It is always great to hear that we can still please our local following!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had worked months with the manager to have a five course dinner with matching wine flights. Upon arriving it appeared all was great..the hostess acknowledged us and our food allergies....one gluten free and one with almond and egg allergies. Then the waiter arrived and it started going south. We have been to several restaurants and had their multiple course tasting menus.....Biga set an all time low for the experience. At least three times we caught allergy contamination issues.....almonds were on the cheese plate touching half the items.....two different courses had gluten items on the gluten intolerant persons plate. The waiter argued with us about whether cous cous and a crusted tart had wheat. We have NO clue what else was contaminated. He had no clue about the matching wines....where they were from, etc. The food was good...the timing was awful. Five courses...three hours...we think we were a pain in their rear and they wish we were not there! Will NEVER dine ther again!!!!

Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biga B, General Manager at Biga on the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

We try to accommodate special requests due to allergies/dietary restrictions the best we can and don't take your feedback lightly.
Thank you for letting us know and, more importantly, being open to a resolution to this problem when we contacted you by e-mail a few days ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a lunch special of enchiladas and it was delicious and the proper lunch size portion. Good service, pretty setting.

Thank lynn484065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biga on the Banks also viewed

 

Been to Biga on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing