We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morton's” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio

Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio
Reserve with OpenTable
Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Crockett & Bonham
Description: Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Morton's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had heard so much about Morton's being out of chicago and all. But this is no Peter Luger's the food is good but not even as compared to the palm which was better.The portions are smaller and it is quite expensive which I have no problem paying if it is worth it.They have a shrmp alexander in a lemon buter sauce which was good but the shrimp were small compared to the palm and 6.50 for one shrimp I know because we added a shrimp to one of the entree's.Don't do it,it is not worth it.Two things I can recommend was the macaroni with bacon and the crab cakes both delicious.All in all over rated and not worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    60
    28
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grace, Class and Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

In my experience, Morton's is always a good choice, whether in SAT or anywhere. Close in to downtown it is easy walking distance from most hotels. The staff is friendly and respectful. No "howya dooin' guys?" here. The one thing I can count on at this restaurant is my steak always comes out right the first time. I have yet to ever send one back. OK, so Morton's is not cheap eats, but IMHO you get what you pay for. BTW, the shrimp cocktail is a do not miss item as is their special Manhattan cocktail, for those of you who imbibe.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
521 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Very nice meal as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been to several Morton's around the US. This one met our expectations. We started with a nice bottle of Stag's Leap Artemis wine. A great wine. My wife and I split a lettuce wedge which was very good. I had the filet and my wife had the ribeye. Mashed potatoes were our side dish. Both were flavorful. Since my steak was not as hot as it should have been they only get a four rating. They probably let mine sit too long before serving it. The service was professional and attentive. Overall a great meal with a warm not hot steak as the only issue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swiftmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great steaaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

great bar. great steaks. Used to have a fantastic presensation, but Landrys now owns them. Dont really miss the Sinatra music but a great place to get a great steak.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiburonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Chain Option in San Antonio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Morton's menu was varied, with a variety of dining options, in addition to steak. The wine-by-the-glass list is adequate, though focused on California wines and a bit pricey. The service was first-rate, but the noise level pretty much made conversaton nearly impossible. Other than the noise, the ambiance is very nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio also viewed

 

Been to Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing