We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just on the other side of the market square”
Review of Pico De Gallo

Pico De Gallo
Ranked #122 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Pico de Gallo, our high standards were set over 75 years ago when Pete Cortez, a native of Guadalajara, Jalisco opened his first restaurant, Mi Tierra. In time, popularity of the restaurant grew and a new, more spacious location had to be purchased. Today, our family owns four restaurants - La Margarita, Pico de Gallo, Viva Villa Taqueria and Mi Tierra, and Pete and Cruz's children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren still uphold the same standards that were set years ago. We are still revered as one of the best Mexican food restaurants to visit, and provide a unique cultural ambience that is fun for locals and tourists alike. Conveniently located in the heart of the Alamo city, we invite you to bring your family and friends to experience everything that is Pico de Gallo.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“just on the other side of the market square”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great spot where the locals tend to eat.It has plenty of Mexican Flair..if you want some colorful eye candy while you eat! Has enough seating for large groups up stairs. Plenty of parking too. Once again...if you prefer the homemade versions of salsas ask for Ranchero sauce and the waiter will bring you the good kind! enjoyed my steak w/ranchero sauce. Had great food!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jbh3ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    75
    35
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best in town!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

service is usually good, can be a bit slow at times--but the food is always excellent. Ask for the salsa de molcajete if you like a bit more heat than in the table salsa. Homemade corn tortillas are to die for, delicious. Love the bright colors & lively decor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nunya24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Suprise”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Went there for breakfast after a recommendation from a worker at the Doubletree hotel. Fantastic food, great service, outstanding coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malakoff, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great TexMex”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The food is awesome, but the service is inattentive. I don't recommend going during the lunch or dinner rush.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very touristy, but the food was fantastic (but the queso was a little overpriced for a glorified bowl of melted velveeta) and the service was prompt. The "15 minute wait" turned out to be less than 5, even on a busy Saturday night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pico De Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing