We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”

Stella Public House
Ranked #74 of 4,882 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: STELLA PUBLIC HOUSE’S “FARM TO PIZZA” concept is centered on Farm to Table food practices and the development of strong partnerships with local growers, ranchers and purveyors. The star of Stella‘s menu is Texas-sourced Artisan Wood-Fired pizza baked in an Italian Modena oven using oak and pecan wood. Shared plates, house made cheeses, fresh salads and comfort foods made with locally-sourced ingredients are also found on the seasonal menu. The beer list consists of 20 rotating taps showcasing craft beers from across the nation as well an approachable, internationally- curated wine list.WE BELIEVE that to prepare great food it is essential that you begin with great ingredients. So at Stella we focus onseasonal offerings and simple preparations.WE ARE PROUD to support local, sustainable, organic agriculture as well as responsible animal stewardship whenever available.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

What's not to like about this place?! Great pizza with the freshest ingredients, cool atmosphere and huge beer selection. 1 pizza per couple should work if you get a salad or something from small plates.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

What I loved most about Stella was their commitment to locally sourced products. When your ingredients are better, your food is better and Stella seems to embrace this! We stopped here after work one night and found that it's a great place to unwind due to its great atmosphere, patio, and laid back environment. It's sophisticated without the ostentatiousness. It's still a relatively new place, so they'll have some growing pains but everything I tried makes me want to come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We made reservations for 10 and we arrived around 7pm on a Sunday evening. All of us are in the foodservice business, being either chefs, restaurateurs or caterers with one wine professional. We were told by locals that this was a great place to go, comfortable, casual and great food. Exactly what we were looking for, since we have not seen each other in quite a long time and we just wanted to relax and catch up. We ordered several orders of Sweet Potato Gnocchi, Caprese Salad and Lamb Meatballs to share. All were fresh and delightful and well presented, and I especially enjoyed the gnocchi. We then placed an order for a variety of pizzas, Quattro, Margherita, Wild Mushroom and Spicy Italian Fennel Sausage. The pizzas arrived and we were not disappointed. They were hot, crisp and each one was delicious and unique in its own way. Each person had their own favorite with mine being the Spicy Sausage. Some chose from the beer options available and our wine guru chose an excellent Pinot Noir from the small but carefully chosen wine list. Our server did an amazing job, as it is not always easy to wait on people in the food business. He was prompt, efficient and took good care of us. When the bill arrived, I was surprised at how reasonable it was given the quality of our experience. With tax and tip it ended up being around $25 each! As they say in Italy, Bellissimo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cmcdlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica V, Public Relations Manager at Stella Public House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for the kind words. We're happy to know you had a great experience. Please see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stopped by at 5pm and asked if we could make a rez for 7pm for 2 people. "No, we don't take reservations for less than 8 people"...we said okay, and came back around 7p. We did not have to wait and were sat right away and then promptly forgotten about. Finally the waitress came back and we asked for a hard cider and 2 samples of lager. After watching our tiny order sit on the edge of the bar for 10 minutes and then being brought to us warm and flat, we told the waitress "nevermind" we're leaving. One kudo...we tried to pay for the cider but she would not let us...the only good thing. We went to "Bite" instead and LOVED it!

Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

After a nice long walk along the San Antonio Riverwalk, we stopped here for a quick drink. Our quick drink actually turned into 4 hours and included dinner!
We started on the patio, which was fabulous, fairly small and intimate yet enough space between tables to protect privacy. When the sun set, we moved inside to one of the tables and continued eating and drinking.
There is a small range of happy hour drinks, where you can get a reasonable glass of wine for $5, there is also a fantastic range of beers and cocktails. Including some beer cocktails, which my other half drank a few of!
We shared the truffle mac and cheese with mushrooms as a starter along with the toasted bread, both very yummy. A little while later we ordered the pancetta pizza with an optional fried egg on top - also delicious!
Prices are slightly on the high side however for such a fun meal we didn't mind as we thought it was well worth it.
Finally our server (and i apologise I can't remember her name), was fabulous. On hand when you needed her, not overbearing, yet extremely friendly and informative.
Would definitely recommend especially as it is off the main tourist track, so it has a more local feel about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Public House also viewed

 

Been to Stella Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing