We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“San Antonio for Christmas”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Antonio, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DORIS H
PEARL RIVER
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“San Antonio for Christmas”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is our second extended stay at this home, and we were just as happy with the place this time, as we were the first time. The location is safe, and easy to navigate to all the many places in, and around, San Antonio. The house is clean, well appointed, quiet, and the kitchen items you need to make meals. The house is actually a little bigger than what my family needs, but the home and location make it a better deal than a smaller place might. I must add that the owner has always been very receptive, and easy to contact. I would hope that we will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannygg20...
Childress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would love to stay there again.”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spotless. Felt very secure and safe. Felt like we were home. Comfortable. Enjoyed our stay there. Location was close to all our activities we had planned. Very close to grocery stores, fast foods and restaurants. There isn't anything negative about our experience.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Come visit again. Best wishes always ~ Astin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This will meet your needs."”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I give a mixed review to this house because there were many positives and a few weaknesses.

On the "plus" side:
- The home is clean and easy to access.
- The location is strong if you want to see SeaWorld, Six Flags and will not spend all your time downtown at the Riverwalk area.
- The home as most of the things you will need to cook and eat.
- It was inexpensive compared to other similar properties, and was significantly cheaper than a hotel!

On the down side:
- The beds were small and we did not think they were comfortable.
- The master bedroom doesn't have a bath, only a shower. It wasn't a problem for us but some might not like this.
- The furniture is minimalist. The wasn't room for all of us to sit in the living room. We brought in chairs from the kitchen. The second living room (was originally a dining room I'm sure) had only two chairs.
- The place advertises "Cable TV" but you really only get the tiniest bit of channels. I was hoping to watch some college football but none of the most common cable sports channels (ESPN, Fox Sports, TNT, etc) were available. Basically you had local channels plus a couple of others.
- The internet is very slow. Don't expect to stream netflix or movies. Our daughter and her husband like to stream live video game play by play for a league they follow and it was a bit too much for the internet speed.
- We couldn't get the fan and light in the living room to work. We called the owner but he couldn't resolve it. He said he would talk to the maintenance guy and get back with us but we didn't hear back. It wasn't something we wanted to hassle with so we just let it go.
- Others speak to how great the owner is for response time, but I usually didn't hear back for 24-48 hours when getting ready to come to the property. Response time to my text messages while staying there was in the 1-3 hour range.

To sum up: The property provides everything you need in a simple and clean home. Space might seem a bit tight but the price is excellent for what you are getting. I would be willing to stay here again, but if I come back to San Antonio I would also look around at other properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the city.
Liked least: TV and Internet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2016
We do appreciate your feedback as your comments are important to us. We would like to provide an update on some of the issues as listed.
- We have indeed expanded the cable television selections to include ESPN, Fox Sports, TNT, and CNN etc., as well as several other cable TV channels.
- We have upgraded to the fastest Internet speed offered by the provider (ATT U-verse)
- The living room ceiling fan remote was indeed inconsistent and has since been replaced
- In regards to more space, we welcome you to view one of our other properties (property ID 6728751) as it may be more accommodating to your needs.
As previously stated, we appreciate the feedback and we would like to welcome you back as a guest.

Best regards,
Astin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lester L
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodations”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice and rewarding trip to San Antonio to attend our daughter's graduation from the Air Force Basic Military Training that was made possible from the spacious, well maintained vacation house we rented from Astin. The area the house was in was nice and easy to get to. The house included everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable and was clean and well maintained. Astin provides for all of your needs in advance and makes himself available in case any problems are encountered - which we didn't. First time i ever rented a vacation house but will do so again based on the positive experience renting from Astin. Hope all properties i may rent in the future are just like Astin's property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home away from home comfort and feel.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, spacious, cozy home.”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

At first, we were sceptical about our stay since this was our first time renting a vacation home. But our minds changed the moment we drove up the driveway. It was great!! We had an excellent time at our stay, even though the weather was not in our favor the first couple of days and the mosquitoes were brutal. The home was fantastic!! We did have one incident throughout our whole stay. On our first night, I accidentally locked the front screen door before leaving through the garage to grab some dinner. We realized it, when we got back and I immediately called Astin. She gave us the garage code and we were able to get in right away. The only thing I would recommend is that there be more bath towels in the restrooms. We definitely would rent this home again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lora S
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was our second time to rent White Cloud vacation home and we were not disappointed. The property was very clean and comfortable. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood not far from Ingram Mall and the chain HEB grocery store. The home is only a few miles from our Mom's senior residence which has no room for guests so this is perfect for us (2 of her children). The home has four bedrooms all with comfortable mattresses and new pillows. There are 2 flat screen T.V.s. We enjoyed our evening walks within the neighborhood and to a nearby Mexican restaurant. It was also a great place to host our extended family which reside in San Antonio. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient location and very clean.
Liked least: Not enough bedside lighting or hooks in the bathroom. Cabinets need to be replaced. Needs instructions for trash takeout and location of cleaning supplies.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORIS H
PEARL RIVER
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect group home-away”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My two sisters, my brother and his wife (and two dogs), and my husband and I spent eight nights in Astin's rental and we could not have been any more pleased with our accommodations. The house was very clean and well-stocked with daily essentials. The furnishings and appliances were up-to-date and fully functioning. The layout of the house was perfect for this large group of baby-boomers and the walk-in shower in the master was so helpful for mobility impaired people. Our location was perfect for getting to the places we wished to visit and very close to stores and restaurants. We will stay here again in the future while visiting relatives...it is so very nice to have a home away....thanks Astin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean & roomy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing