We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Go To Place for Quick Seafood”

Sea Island Shrimp House
Ranked #222 of 4,736 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Sea Island Shrimp House specializes in wild-caught Texas Gulf shrimp. Guest favorites include Lemon Pepper Fish and Shrimp, Charbroiled Shrimp, Shrimp Salad, Stuffed Shrimp, Shrimp Linguine, and more. We also serve Grilled Salmon, Rainbow Trout, Gulf Oysters on the Half Shell, Catfish, and Flounder, when available. Not a seafood fan? Enjoy our juicy Steaks, Burgers, Beef Kabobs and Grilled Chicken. Soups, salads and a variety of appetizers, including Shrimp Cocktail, Mexican Shrimp Cocktail, Calamari, Ceviche and more keep our guests coming back time after time!
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Seems I'm always in a hurry to get someplace these days, so when I'm short on time, but want a good seafood dinner, I hit Sea Island Shrimp House. The service is fast, the food is good and consistant, and the prices are perfect!

1  Thank Hope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

It's great to hear from you Hope! Thank you for sharing your review with others on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The sevice was friendly, but the food had no taste! It was very bad that we had to put hot sauce on everything!! The gumbo tasted like it came out of a can..MAYBE it was an off day for them. And the girl in the front compared the restaurant to papadeuxs,wow ....no comparison what so ever!

Thank Marla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Marla, thank you for joining us! We are so disappointed to hear your meal lacked flavor. We truly hope you would give us another chance to put our best foot forward!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

And the hot green beans are sooo good. Almost 30 years of eating here and their restaurant in Austin and I always get the charbroiled shrimp! My hubby will get the drum whenever they have it as a special, but usually enjoys the grilled shrimp. Love this place, love the hostess, will be back soon!!

Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Debra, it's so great to hear from you! We value your loyalty of the years and promise to continue to deliver the same quality food and service you have come to know and love! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Walked in expecting a regular restaurant....it is not. You order at a window (service was excellent!) and they were helpful since we hadn't been there before. I had the strawberry lemonade, some of the best ever (usually too sweet for me). The grilled shrimp I had was so tasty, I was licking my fingers in public. We ate outside on their veranda and enjoyed the pleasant weather and fans. Just about as good as it gets.

2  Thank taffien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your visit even though our order-at-the-counter concept was a little bit of a surprise for you! We appreciate the time you took to leave a review for others on TripAdvisor and hope to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Sea Island is A San Antonio institution. Not fancy but friendly. VERY fresh fish and friendly service. We have been eating there for years and decided long ago that their seafood was as good as we could get at the Texas coast. It's a place your order and pick it up at the counter when your pager lights up kind of place.

1  Thank Rita Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for others on TripAdvisor! Your "Not fancy but friendly" headline is a great description of who we want to be! We appreciate your loyalty over the years, and guarantee you, we will always strive to serve the freshest seafood in a great family-friendly environment. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Island Shrimp House also viewed

 

Been to Sea Island Shrimp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing