We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view. Good food. Quaint restaurant.”

Ocho at Hotel Havana
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocho at Hotel Havana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Inspired by the union of old and new worlds, Ocho at Hotel Havana offers two unique spaces for dining and drinks on the Museum Reach of the River Walk in San Antonio. The upstairs Ocho dining room, situated in a glass and steel conservatory reminiscent of a birdcage, opens onto the river and offers seating both indoors and outdoors. The downstairs lounge provides a dimly candlelit gathering place with velvet couches and antique leather club chairs suited for intimate meetings and secret rendezvous. Ocho at Hotel Havana presents a food, cocktail and wine menu that is rooted in the hotel's pan-Latin cultural influences. Ocho offers inventive menus for breakfast (voted among the Best in Texas by Texas Monthly Magazine), lunch, dinner and late night to be served in-room, on the patio or in the upstairs lounge.
Level Contributor
414 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great view. Good food. Quaint restaurant.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here on the recommendation of a friend.

The restaurant is very nicely located as it overlooks the river walk.

We ordered the banana bread, eggs and the pancakes. The food was very good and flavorful along with a very nice presentation. The prices are a bit high.

The service was okay.

The view was fabulous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    87
    28
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant and Bar”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had drinks and dined at this restaurant while staying in the hotel. The bar and restaurant area is fabulous..beautiful old chandeliers, Victorian sofas all complement the "conversatory" feeling of this space..it was like being in a treehouse as it overlooks the river and they had the doors up, so you could get the outside while being inside. The food and drinks were wonderful. I had the best Bloody Mary that I have ever had in the US or Europe. Our waiter, Reynaldo was fabulous. He told me that they make their own bloody mary mix and you can certainly tell it does not come out of a bottle or off a shelf!! The food is delciious. I had the special of the evening, beef shank, that was truly outstanding. Also, the portions are very large, so you can almost split a dish. The Ceaser Salad was the biggest salad I have ever seen anywhere and one of the best. It was enough for 3 people to share. At the end of our meals the chef came out to see how we liked our meals, which added a nice touch. This place was pure class. I highly recommend even if you are not staying in the hotel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great service and drinks”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friend and I recently visited San Antonio and found this neat little spot that we just loved. I actually read about it in Southern Living Magazine for a special spot to have a drink and it was.
We arrived there after a long flight and found it to be very relaxing. John, our server, was a delight and very friendly and pleasant. We had the Cuban sandwich, which we shared and two special drinks that John recommended. I had a mojito--fabulous--and my friend had a terrific margarita. She said it was the best she every had. We had a nice table by the Riverwalk.
The décor was very charming and inviting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shorthand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved the ambiance! Good food, too!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We sat on the terrace and had appetizers -- Pork Empandas, and Shrimp & Fish Cocktail (it had a different name, but it was basically a spicy Shrimp Cocktail). Both were very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JK_SATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ocho Bueno”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location on the north end of the Riverwalk. Unique setting with a wall of windows overlooking the river. Menu is short but unique and diverse. The Shrimp & Crab Campachena was excellent as was Hanger Steak a La Plancha. Full bar, good wime list and friendly but not intrusive service . A hidden treasure for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glass Diva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocho at Hotel Havana also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Ocho at Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing