We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food ----- great value!”

54th Street Grill & Bar
Ranked #355 of 4,622 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food ----- great value!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you want a casual dining experience that includes good food, nice atmosphere and great service while providing you with value for your dollar...this is the place! Portion size is large and quality has been great each time we have dined here. Their specialty drinks should be given a try....different and taste great! Food service is fast and accurate and the staff is professional and polite. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It was mediocre.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The food was average, and the service was average as well. We'd heard good things about this restaurant from a friend, but we were disappointed. A place has to be pretty good for us to return for a second time...we won't likely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluenorth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
481 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“HAD A GOOD TIME”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Picture six of us old folks, three couples, eating and talking. We had appetizers and main courses and one dessert. Is this gourmet food like you would find in a fancy French bistro? Naw. But it was very nicely prepared, good solid American-style food in a pleasant atmosphere. We were seated in one of those long booths that hold six people. The waitress was attentive. It was a little odd that the food came out in bits and pieces, as it was ready. But then, we wouldn't want it just sitting somewhere in the kitchen when it was ready to eat. The fat onion rings were arranged like a tower -- very interesting. My wife had the Catfish Called Wanda and I had the Blackened Tilapia (they couldn't find a clever name for that?). My Caesar salad was big enough for two or three people. We took food home with enough for lunch the next day. We stayed so long talking amongst ourselves I was afraid we would have to pay rent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A favorite spot, close by, good food and fun spot”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have always had good service, great food, fun place. My ribs so tender they fell off the bone they worked with me on diet restrictions and did a sub as can't do ff, at no extra cost. My husband is vegetarian and they always have items for him and always work with him, it is just a easy fun place don't have to dress up, they have a diners card so after our 8th meal there we get a free one which is nice, just did a survey for a free item, guests have enjoyed as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skylanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service is lacking, need to retrain and learn to work as a team!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was our date night and first time ever to visit. Sad to say we won't go back. Food for the most part was good. The southern green beans were so heavily seasoned with white pepper that most could not eat them. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly for me although he was the one who ordered it rare. It came out a warm medium. So I ate his steak and he ate my pork tomahawks. The worst thing I would say is the service. It took forever (15minutes to get drink orders) to see our waitress, many others came past us but didn't alert ours nor offer to help her by taking our orders or bringing water. At one point we were able to make eye contact and I waved the hostess down, but after she finished seating guests at a table she ran off and didn't come by to check out what we needed. As we were getting our stuff together to leave, our server came up. We were also served our appetizer without any silverware, had to flag some other server down to get it. The servers weren't happy or chipper either, except for one lady who brought our meals out - we were thinking that we wished she were our server! Anyways, it was a disappointment. They weren't swamped either, there were constatly about 4 to 6 servers hanging out by the server station. We tipped our 20% because we think it's just bad training. We're writing this review in hopes that the manager will change that. We're very patient and nice people. So take it for what it's worth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkh143ek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 54th Street Grill & Bar also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to 54th Street Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing