We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh burgers”
Review of Old West Burgers and Steaks - CLOSED

Old West Burgers and Steaks
Cuisines: American
Description: Locally owned Old West Burgers serves Beef, Chicken, Turkey, Veggie, Vegan and Bison Burgers. We serve fresh Salads. We are Paleo-friendly. Gluten-free Buns, Sweet Potato Fries, Sweet Potato Tater Tots and Side Salads are available for an additional charge. We have a Giant TV Screen and a large Outdoor Playground. We are Pet-friendly as long as Pets are on a leash, don't bother other customers and owners clean up any mess their pet may make. Voted in the Top 6 Best San Antonio Burgers in 2013 by WOAI News.
Restaurant details
Description: Locally owned Old West Burgers serves Beef, Chicken, Turkey, Veggie, Vegan and Bison Burgers. We serve fresh Salads. We are Paleo-friendly. Gluten-free Buns, Sweet Potato Fries, Sweet Potato Tater Tots and Side Salads are available for an additional charge. We have a Giant TV Screen and a large Outdoor Playground. We are Pet-friendly as long as Pets are on a leash, don't bother other customers and owners clean up any mess their pet may make. Voted in the Top 6 Best San Antonio Burgers in 2013 by WOAI News.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fresh burgers”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Went for the first time. It is very close to our house. I had the bacon burger and my wife had the guacamole burger. Both were excellent and tasted fresh. The fries were excellent as well. We will come back!

Jim, the owner said that they had started the restaurant on Evers two years ago and moved here 2 months ago for a better location, parking and inside space.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great burger joint for young and old”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

While this is not the most convenient place to get to, it is fabulous for many reasons. First, there is a large outdoor play area for kids that has soccer goals and artificial turf, slides, sand and outdoor dining to keep an eye on the kids. This is all within a fenced area, so no balls go into the street or parking lot and the kids can run and play without too much supervisions. Relax parents and enjoy your food! They even brought our food out to us in the play area.

The food is excellent. Unique burger combos and combine a few toppings to create your own. Each is delicious.

Inside the restaurant, there is a very large high-def projection screen, with quality and color I have not seen too many placed before. Really amazing to watch football on this screen. Everything was clean and no mess anywhere. The restrooms were clean and tidy too.

All-in-all, this is an A+ for our family. If you want to have a good meal, let the kiddos run and let some of that energy out, this is the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctrknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
610 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Sneaky Burgers”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Obtained a couple of coupons for this restaurant to give it a try. Sh__tfire! with a name like Old West, I wanted to see what this chuck wagon had to offer.

Old West is now located at 4553 N.W. Loop 1604. - used to be the Yacht Club among other things. Restaurants just don't seem to make it at this location.

Walked in and placed our order at the front counter - two bacon cheeseburgers ($7.95 each), which come with fries, and two drinks. To correct an earlier review (under Old West), the drinks are now $1.99 each. With no coupon the order would have come to $23.65!! My wife substituted cheddar cheese for american and was unknowingly upcharged about $1.00 . . . a little sneaky not telling us. And speaking of upcharges, you can substitute the following for fries with an additional upcharge:
Tater Tots - $.99
Sweet Potato Fries - $.99
Sweet Potato Tots - $.99
Onion Rings - $1.99

We both ordered our burgers medium (this has become a standing joke with us as next to no burger place serves a burger other than well done). Most places will be glad to take your order for degree of doneness as long as it is "well".

We received our two burger baskets; the burger is served open face allowing you to add just the accouterments you want. Nice Hawaiian bread like bun - super soft and nicely grilled - a little sweet for my taste though. The meat, supposed to be 1/2 lb., had a great grilled flavor (reminds me of the flame burgers the old Jim's Frontier Burger on Fredericksburg Rd. used to make. The 1/2 lb measurement must have been before the burger was cooked - looked more like a 1/3 lb burger if measured after cooking. And guess what. . . the burger was well done!

The portion of fries served with the burger is much less than generous. When my wife questioned if this was the normal amount of fries served, she was told :"Yes. It is 8 ozs". Not 7 1/2 or 8 and 1/4 mind you . . . . but 8 ozs. That my friends is culinary exactitude at its finest!

The manager finally came over to ask us how the meal was. My wife told him that the burgers were not done medium and asked him to look and see what he thought. He said, "nope, that's not medium". I have always been a proponent of "don't ask if you really don't want to know and are prepared to take the appropriate action". Apparently the appropriate action in this fellas mind was to do nothing and he abruptly walked away.

So, with good tasting meat but a bit expensive for burgers, sweet buns, exactly measured fries, plain sight and hidden upcharges, and a manager who should not interface with the customers unless he takes a crash course on how to overcome dis-ingenuity, I will be hard pressed to return. And I would not be at all surprised if, for this restaurant with its current conduct of business and in it's current location, "Another One Bites the Dust!"

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went cause we had a Groupon. That got us in, the food would get us back. Hamburger patties are Pre-made, arguably frozen, not fresh. Bison burger was adequate although the ratio of bread to burger was a little high. Sweet potato fries and onion rings were good but served slightly warm. Service was pleasant but slow. Big screen TV - good for watching games but there have to be places with TVs and hot food.

It's also a big strip mall with only 2 handicapped parking spaces at the opposite end. Handicapped access is an afterthought.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old West Burgers and Steaks also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing