We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Rio de Gelato

Rio de Gelato
Ranked #14 of 115 Dessert in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Ciao! We are a locally owned & operated pizzeria that features a full Italian café as well as a complete gelato bar. Our menu items are freshly prepared daily according to our own pastime family recipes. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Trinidad, TX
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The guy running the place treated us like family from the first time we met him. Alfredo remembered our names the next when we came back. Gelato is amazing from this place, and his wife makes the cannoli by hand, these are delicious! We came back again for pizza, best place on the river walk, in my family's opinion. We will make this place a must visit every time we come back.

I told Alfredo, I don't normally write reviews, however, this place was extraordinary and I had to make an exception.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    12
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Fishkill, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrific !”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The owner (Alfredo) is a charming person and made us feel like family during our visit. His selection of baked goods & gelato flaviors are extensive and made with the finest ingredients. In fact, his was the best cannoli I've ever eaten.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Top, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I don't know where all these people were eating, but this was a HUGE disappointment. The joint was a hole in the wall in a tunnel- no atmosphere whatsoever. Cardboard crust, huge chunks of raw veggies, no flavor. Latte was lukewarm and I couldn't add my own amount of sugar. Everything was really overpriced. Owner was brusque almost surly. Maybe these other guys were at Pizzaritas or perhaps they are family. $21 for 3 slices and a small latte ? Should have been fantastic, not frozen crust.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Not good pizza. The crust was awful and the added toppings were raw. Prices were very high for what we got. We have had frozen pizza with better taste and texture. There wasn't even an appetizing flavor of gelato. It was a complete waste of time and money. Too bad I can't give them a zero.

Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
san antonio TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Rio de Gelato has the best gelato (fresh made and many flavors) and most delectable pizza. The charming Italian gentleman who runs it (he is from Pisa) is so engaging and solicitous, full of ideas and advice. Best little pizza place on the River Walk. In an arcade just across from La Mansion. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtm3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio de Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Rio de Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing