We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

St Joseph Catholic Church
Ranked #12 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The decorations were beautiful. I told my mother- in- law that I woudl light a candle for her at every church I entered. She was in heaven there, lovely church. I am so glad to see church doors open to the public all day. I said a prayer to all my friends that asked.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Empathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    56
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“The church that hung in there against big business”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A department store wanted to buy the church so they could expand. However, the church parishioners vetoed that idea. So now you have this beautiful church surrounded by higher buildings in the city. It is a close walk from Alamo plaza and worth the stroll if you like stained glass windows, church architecture or are Catholic. It isn't the most beautiful church I've ever seen - really pretty much in the average looks range - but still a nice one. Weekdays have noon services. The priest is very nice and greets you after the mass. There is a small gift shop in the rear corner of the church. For me it was a nice break from all the touristy activities.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spirtual & Historic”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Angelic music fills your ears, as the organ plays or you listen to the great sounds of the Liederkranz choir. The interior is as beautiful and majestic as the Gothic Revival architectural exterior, with gorgeous stained glass windows, an umber glow of polished wood or majestic marble forms. A beautiful place to visit as a tourist or as a member of the catholic faith.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MOETX12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Saved from Destruction”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

At one time this historic mission church almost was taken down, but a determined Mr. McGinnis fought to preserve this pice of San Antonio history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyLou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss this church”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We knew Fr. Mario from when he was a priest at one of our churches in Fla. so stopped to see him. What a beautiful church. The tour guide on the Riverwalk boat ride said Macy's wanted to buy the entire block. However, the archdiocese wouldn't sell out. Good for them. It would be a terrible loss to the City. So Macy's built right around them!! Unlike the Cathedral, there is parking on the side of the church.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaHoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Joseph Catholic Church also viewed

 

Been to St Joseph Catholic Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing