We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveler rating
1,389
200
54
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,389
200
54
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrabath butlerthe river walkrooftop cafeturn down servicesteam roombrick walljetted tubfour seasonsroom servicehotel restaurantbottled waterwonderful hotela river view roomla mansionluxury hotelthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,578 - 1,583 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2009

everything about this place is excellent, from location to the size of the bathrooms to the sheets. have stayed in most the higher end hotels in downtown SA from the Valencia to the Grand Hyatt and this is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasNitpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

To cut a long story short we transferred to the Watermark from another SA hotel, arranged by our previous hotel and we got a very good rate.

From the moment we pulled up outside the hotel the staff were excellent. Helpful, attentive, little touches like bottled water when we took the car out were much appreciated. Check in was smooth, the porter who brought our bags was so helpful with information about the hotel and the city, and the door staff were fantastic.

Room was great. Large, airy, river view. Bed was almost too comfy, and huge. Plenty of space in the room for our huge cases and tons of shopping bags.

Bathroom was large with plenty of counter space. Separate bath and shower was lovely and good water pressure. Had the important magnifying mirror in the bathroom for this short sighted guest.

Our rate included breakfast in Pesca which was fabulous. Their cinammon raisin french toast was amazing!

Pool area was small but beautiful.

Only downside was a significant overcharge on my credit card when I returned home. Took a couple of international calls to sort this and it did slightly sour the memories of our stay.

All said, I'd go back again in a flash. Beautiful hotel in a great location with some of the most helpful staff I've encountered in a US hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athtrasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I'd like to echo ATLbusiness. The Watermark is a true relaxation oasis in the middle of the cramped, buzzing Riverwalk area. It was such a treat to escape into the peace and simple elegance of the Watermark each time was walked through the doors.

We would highly recommend our corner suite - spacious high ceilings, balcony, comfortable linens and lots and lots of space! One room had a high tech LCD, the other an old tube TV. We had terrible Internet trouble through our entire stay, probably because of all the competing wireless networks around the Riverwalk. And the Watermark's wired-only service was finicky AT&T Wayport service just like the wireless.

The staff was attentive and extremely professional. And I am certain we experienced one of the best housekeeping staffs in the country - like having a favorite aunt doting over you during a Christmas visit! The Omni Select Guest program is so very effective and smart - the Watermark staff executed our preferences flawlessly. Be sure to sign up before you stay!

I'm not sure the property or the service are really twice as much as the competition, including their sister property La Mansion across the Riverwalk, but the prices can definitely be twice as much. If you are at all considering "treating" yourself to a bit of pampering (or can't stand touristy crowds), you will never regret an extra $100 or so.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5genoklahoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

From the time we arrived with the friendly valet employees we were very pleased with the helpful staff. Our room was river front with a nice river view. The room was clean, nice with a high ceiling, ceiling fan, Dean and Deluca snacks, espresso coffee maker and an important point for me was quiet! I never heard other guests like you do in some hotels, just the occasional door close or a bus on the street but that was it! The hotel restaurant which we tried for breakfast had great food.
The location is great, right on the river and walking distance to the Alamo as well. When we checked it out was raining and the valet employee was such a nice guy, walked us to the car with an umbrella and asked if we wanted a bottled water to go. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTraveler002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

This was a nice place to stay in San Antonio. I had a great riverwalk view with a balcony. The room was really nice and spacious. Spa was excellent and very relaxing. Not sure I would return for San Antonio again other than for business, but if I had to, would return to Watermark. The Hotel restrauant, Pesca on the River, was a very good.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jshayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews