We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,694)
Filter reviews
1,694 results
Traveler rating
1,392
200
54
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,392
200
54
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrabath butlerthe river walkrooftop cafeturn down servicesteam roombrick walljetted tubfour seasonsroom servicehotel restaurantbottled waterwonderful hotela river view roomla mansionluxury hotelthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,182 - 1,187 of 1,694 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

By San Antonio standards the Mokara is top dollar but in terms of money well spent it is hard to beat. From start to finish my wife and I found this hotel ticked all the boxes.
All the staff were unfailingly pleasant, helpful and attentive. The two minor problems we experienced were dealt with almost immediately.
Our room did not overlook the Riverwalk and the view therefore was not inspiring. However, it was very large, very comfortable, had a beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi bath, inexhaustible toiletries and towels.
We did not use the Spa or pool so leave others to comment.
The management and staff are to be congratulated on running a first call establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We just returned from a mini 3 night vacation on the San Antonio Riverwalk (Mar 6th – Mar 9th), staying at the Mokara Hotel & Spa. I agree with other T/A reviewers who rated this hotel as excellent. Service at the Mokara is attentive, friendly and very much geared to their individual guests. When making the online reservation, the form asks if you are celebrating any special occasions. We made it known that we would be celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and from the time of our arrival until our departure, those working at the front desk, the Spa, the restaurant, and guest services made it a point to say congratulations to us, as well as brought us free champagne with dinner, mimosa’s at breakfast, desserts at lunch, etc.

The rooms are as pictured on their website as well as by other T/A members. Hotel amenities include Mokara brands that were very good. We purchased one of their special offer packages that included breakfast each morning, champagne and chocolate truffles each night, and valet parking. We also added 2 Swedish massages at the time of making the reservation since it was cheaper that way and it included lunch on the rooftop café. Breakfast at Ostra Restaurant was excellent. Everything was fresh and well prepared. The host and hostess are very friendly and service was commendable.

We also had drinks at the Ostra Bar one evening and they serve the best martini that I’ve ever tasted. It’s called the Spa-tini and is made the Grey Goose Citron Vodka, lemon liqueur and cucumbers (it’s fabulous). Try one if you like martinis.

The Spa was excellent, warm and very inviting. The Swedish massage was wonderful and the relaxation room and water area were all beautiful. We didn't have a chance to use the workout facilities, but we did visit it and it is very well appointed. There was at least 6 treadmills, 5 elliptical machines, other weight areas, etc. In fact, it was extremely nice and would definitely fit the bill of anyone who is serious about their workout.

The Mokara is a little pricey, but it is located on the Riverwalk in the center of all of the happenings and worth the stay. You can stroll down the river to just about any restaurant or café to your liking. We walked from the Mokara down the Riverwalk to the San Antonio Museum of Arts, which was about a 40 minute walk. It would be a little faster walk if you take the street, but not as scenic. The Mokara is also about 5-6 miles from one of the best Jazz, R&B, Soul live music clubs that we've visited in long time (i.e., Luna on San Pedro St.). If you enjoy really good live old school music and dancing at a club with no-smoking, Luna is a fun night out in San Antonio.

We stayed in a River View room (#573 on the 5th floor) with a balcony overlooking the river where we could sit each morning and enjoy coffee and the view. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at Mokara and we would absolutely stay here again and will highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great, but request a room that is not too high up (3rd - 5th floors have wonderful views of the river).
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooltexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel staff and service are top notch. The spa is above average and probably the best in San Antonio. My fiance and I have come here three years in a row, and plan on continuing this tradition going forward. Everything is super nice - which it should be for the price. It isn't cheap; but it's worth it. Only downside was dinner at Ostra was just ok. The oysters and crabappetizer were amazing; while the mahi mahi and scallop entrees were clearly frozen and not remotely fresh. For the $36, four scallop entree - I'm sorry; I want it fresh; not from HEB/Kroger. Having said that; the service was still top notch and we will come back and try dinner again at Ostra.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Room had a great bed although the view of the parking ramp was so-so. Very nice bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. Good fitness facility, with super cold lemon water and apples readily available. The roof-top pool was very nice although the water was a bit too chilly to go in (air temp was only in the 70's). Great location on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Mokara sets the standard for luxury, attentiveness, room quality, spa services, and overall guest experience. I hosted a 50 person event and had all my guests stay at the Mokara...rave reviews all around. Don't mess around with a big corporate hotel. The Mokara is leaps and bounds above what you'll experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews