We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mokara staff is outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mokara staff is outstanding”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Enjoy the rooftop pool and outstanding staff at this luxurious, small hotel. Rooms are spacious and beds, linens and pillows extra comfortable. Everyone is very friendly and accommodating. Great location on River Walk, quiet rooms even with lots of activity outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    182
    47
    23
    15
See reviews for
189
745
44
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

For a recent ‘staycation’ my partner and I decided to treat ourselves to an overnight at the Mokara Hotel in San Antonio.

Arrival and check in was quick and efficient. The hotel did not seem busy this particular weekend, which was nice. The lobby is very inviting and front desk staff friendly and welcoming.

We booked a king room overlooking the Riverwalk. While the room is decorated nicely, I must say the size of the room compared to the costs are not in alignment. Being a resident of San Antonio, I should have known the Riverwalk rooms are basically across the street from the actual river and up several stories. So, you get more of a bird’s eye view of the river. This can come in handy if there is a lot of noise from the Riverwalk. These rooms come with a very small balcony, with barely enough room for 2 chairs and a really, really small table.

The staff at the restaurant for breakfast was very helpful and friendly, especially Richard the host on duty. The teams worked well together and provided attentive service, but not overbearing.

No question the hotel is very well maintained, clean and attempts to provide an upscale experience. However, I do think for the money it is a bit overpriced for the overall experience. My bill including the bed and breakfast package, room and overnight parking ($35.00) totaled over $600.00. Unfortunately, San Antonio does not offer a Four Seasons, St. Regis or Ritz Carlton property. The Mokara makes a respectable attempt to fill that void. That being said, I feel they should re-think their pricing and services.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TXtravler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Mokara is luxurious and well-located, with fantastic service. The spa is beautiful and services are high-quality. Food is excellent and there are healthy choices. Prime location right on the Riverwalk. Rooms are quite, comfortable, well-appointed, and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank CookinmaBrynMawr_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Best hotel I've ever stayed at. Great service, and I mean really great service. Staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to meet all our needs. Extremely clean and comfortable. Great location and food was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I've stayed at many Riverwalk hotels, and this is by far the friendliest, more like a B&B than a large hotel. The hotel itself is lovely with good amenities and thick walls so you don't hear all the tourist and traffic noises that are so common in other Riverwalk hotels. I have been to San Antonio so often that I went on this trip reluctantly, but the Mokara staff made me feel so welcome and cared for that it ended up being a wonderful stay and I was disappointed to go home!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the quiet tones of the bellman announcing your arrival by walkie talkie to the front desk to the thoughtful addition of an inspirational thought presented with several different fruits in your room, this hotel goes above and beyond to please. Within 3 minutes of arrival I was in my room. When I left to attend a conference I was greeted upon return and asked where I wanted a piece of organic fruit or a bottle of water (complementary). I was asked whether I was new to the area and if there was anything that they could help me with. They helped me book tickets to the nearby Majestic theater as well as dinner reservations on the Riverwalk. When I returned to my room, slippers, robe, water, eye mask were laid out, lights had been dimmed, ice bucket filled and new age music was playing through the TV. Complementary newspaper hangs on your door in the wee hours of the morning. While this was a business trip with the host company paying the bill, I would gladly pay for the privilege.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - otherwise you get to look at the wall of the adjoining hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stay here if you are in San Antonio.. Room was large and very tastefully decorated. Service was among the best we have ever had. Hotel is a great location - a quieter part of Riverwalk than many of the other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,565 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing