We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay on the River Walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay on the River Walk”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Mokara is truly a treasure on the River Walk in San Antonio. The service and amenities are way above anything you can obtain in any of the convention hotels. The food was execllent but the servive was even better. The front desk always remembered my name and spoke to me as i walked through the comfortable lobby. The room was spacious and the bath room we beautiful. It was very conveniently located on the River Walk with lovely patio dining. The hotel gym is excellent with up to date equipment and TV's on all the cardio equipment. The spa provided top notch services at a competative price and we experienced no problem making reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    182
    47
    23
    15
See reviews for
189
745
44
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Branch, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night just to enjoy the pool, spa, and downtown location. The service and attention to detail was obvious and appreciated. The friendly staff went above and beyond expectations. We would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Mokara for 5 nights with my mother, aunt and sister. This historical building (saddlery formerly) was our beautiful home for a mere five days. I looked forward to coming back to the hotel every night because it was beautiful, clean, insanely comfortable, the staff was delightfully polite and helpful (concierge Petra is a wealth of knowledge); a true 5-star experience much like I found in Asia. Furthermore I dare you to find a better smelling lobby anywhere in the US! I only wish Mokara had other hotels; this is the only one of its kind. I also wish I had had the time to try their spa services since this is what Mokara is best known for. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant on the patio overlooking the Riverwalk; delicious!
Petra, the concierge, helped us plan our itinerary for the city. After a few days, we decided to head up country into Hill Country and Petra arranged for the car rental and the itinerary. She knew we wanted to stay off the main roads and catered to our specifications. Most definitely the staff at Mokara played a huge part in making our trip to San Antonio memorable. Thank you Mokara staff!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gennieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were so disappointed with this hotel. We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and decided to splurge and stay at the Mokara because of its location and its high ratings. It was beautiful and the employees were very friendly and professional. However, there were several things we disliked, such as having to use the room key for the elevator to work, no usable refrigerator, no microwave, no breakfast, not even an ice machine (you have to wait for someone deliver ice to your room) The pool on the roof was beautiful...until some drunk man showed up and got in wearing nothing but a towel loosely wrapped around him. He sat across from 3 women with a full view up his towel! We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

As a tourist and an ex professional touroperator I can recommend this hotel to tourists all over the world. Service is perfect, breakfast is wonderful, everything is clean and it is located right on the famous river walk, almost infront of the excursion cruise boat stop. All restaurants are within walking distance around, but this hotel has the perfect sea food restaurant....Front desk is very quick and very accurate and friendly. Just as an ex professional touroperator and an ordinary tourist I can recommend it to all travelers. You will be happy with this hotel. I can assure you will love and enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

You will not find a better hotel on the riverwalk, with a better location, friendlier and helpful staff, or better facilities than Mokara. Excellent Spa and rooftop pool. Go up to the pool at night, magical. Ostra Restaurant is the best on the riverwalk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank P3465RXmichaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros:

Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! Check-in was smooth as silk!

Valet parking and Bellhops are top notch and make your transition from vehicle to check-in smooth! We felt like millionaires from start to finish!

Whoever manages/owns this hotel deserves a gold star! You have trained staff to meet and far exceed expectations! Nowhere I have ever stayed, in 30 years of travel around the world, has been this amazing!
Thank you!

Turn down service in the evening after arriving from dinner, was...
WOW!

Nothing, I mean nothing, was skipped, missed nor forgotten.
Towels, linens, bedding, soaps, shampoos, staff, food, cleanliness, service - 100% GRADE A, TOP OF THE LINE!
5 STARS!!!

THE SPA! AHHHH! THANK YOU FOR THE MOST WONDEROUS MASSAGE AND FACIAL!!

Cons:
NOT A SINGLE ONE!


DO YOURSELF A FAVOR! SPEND A MUCH EARNED, WELL DESERVED, SPOIL YOURSELF WEEKEND @ THE MOKARA!!
Will be back x 1000!!




  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,565 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing