We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I always seem to be criticising but after staying 3 nights in this hotel, i can't think of anything bad to say. Its ideally located and the staff are so helpful. I was persuaded by my wife to pamper myself so i visited the spa and had a massage and pedicure, excellent. Great coffee in the rooms and fast room service. We will make this hotel our base in san antonio from now on.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony or patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bolmanlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, charming, and in the ideal location to enjoy being directly on the riverwalk. And easy walking distance to the Alamo, the Mercado (city market), and the Tower of the Americas. The spa in the hotel was wonderful as well. The concierge service was very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 774 and 775 join to make a master bedroom/ bath with jetted tub and seperate a sitting room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

From the minute we stepped out of our car to the minute we got back in to leave, the entire staff bent over backwards to make our stay an excellent one.. When was the last time you were handed a cold bottle of water while the bellman was unloading your luggage? When was the last time you asked the front desk for a cup of coffee, they gave it you gratis, asked if you wanted a complimentary NY Times (Sunday), asked if you wanted them to go up the elevator with you to your room because your hands were full .. etc etc .. Servers in Ostra giving impromptu lessons on their many tequilas.. spa workers making sure your every service was value packed .. This is not a priceline hotel with purposeful mis ratings (San Antonio is one of the worst for that). mokara is a high value hotel in an excellent Riverwalk location.. that you will want to visit again and again ..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valuemkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was a little disappointed when we got an interior room and only had a small window looking onto some patios and rooftops but the service made up for it! The location is great and the staff goes out of their way to make sure every need is met. Rooms are clean and luxurious and coffee in the room was excellent. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vester_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Walking directly out of the Mokara Hotel on to the RiverWalk is the strongest recommendation for staying here. For our one night en route to Austin, my husband and I managed to see the Alamo, do the RiverWalk past the overly commercial loop all the way to King William Historic District (a must for architectural buffs), and catch a Spurs game. The room was well appointed and the bathroom super large. We were sorry the staff didn't even mention the rooftop bar when we checked in, because we certainly would have used it. And it's too bad our room faced a brick wall. And it's a shame that the front desk was so icy when we asked if breakfast was included. But the enthusiasm and warmth of the car jockey made up for their lack of grace--he gave us perfect directions to the Spurs game and was a real cheerleader for San Antonio.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Expect to pay more but you will not be disappointed..Personnel go out of their way to make you feel welcome - even offer to draw your bath and turn down the covers (believe that if you asked, they would even "tuck" you in). The room was lovely but the bath surpassed all one could expect. I especially appreciated the huge Jacuzzi tub and my husband enjoyed the walk in marble shower. Right on the River Walk ......just take the elevator and walk out to hundreds of restaurants and a great place to stretch your legs and People Watch. This hotel truly deserves the word "Luxury" in their description.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the River Walk. Most rooms also have balconies with table and chairs but e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Head and shoulders above any spa ever! I had a wonderful facial and was allowed to use the facilities -- the whirlpool, sauna, eucalyptus sauna, rooftop pool and hot tub - the rest of the afternoon. The ladies dressing area is plush and has every amenity you need. This is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank christi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,297 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,163 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
4,025 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
2,091 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $267 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing