We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth it's ratings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mokara Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
642 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Worth it's ratings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Checked in for a business ess trip without any idea it was the top rated San Antonio hotel and wasn't disappointed, rooms remind me of luxury British hotels, a feeling of quality and style without being flash. Stylish and lovely rooms and amazing bathrooms, seafood restaurant is also amazing - I spend many nights in hotels and this is the best for me this year and in fact for quite some time - would pitch it against the best, simply superb service and surroundings, stay here if you can.

Rob

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    164
    43
    22
    14
See reviews for
168
652
40
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A little difficult to find at first, but once we arrived, it was great. Recommend that you find a package deal to include valet service because there's no hotel parking and the cost is about $32 per day. There is a large garage two blocks away if you want to self park. The second you enter the lobby, the fragrance will immediately take over and you just know that this is a special experience. From front desk, bellman, and concierge, the on boarding is terrific. We were celebrating our anniversary and the concierge ordered champaigne and chocolate strawberries for us - nice touch ! When booking, request a room with a view of the riverwalk and ask for a high floor as it can get rather loud at night if you're on the lower floors. The top floor has a hot tub, cafe, gym, and small pool with nice views of the city. The spa did not wow me with the facility or treatments - steam room was under repair, hot sauna was not working, and my masseuse left me feeling a little worse than better. My wife enjoyed her half day treatment and had a better masseuse who can make all the difference. We had breakfast included and it was a bit confusing as one morning, it was a $36 credit for two, and next morning, it was all inclusive. The beds are very comforable and rooms are spacious. I would come back here for the right room floor level and view, and hopefully a better spa experience. This is probably one of the best locations you can find right on the river walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This boutique hotel was such a find! The staff throughout the hotel - bellman, front desk, pool, cafe, restaurant, housekeeping, etc - go out of their way to greet you, offer assistance, double check that you have everything you need. The rooms are comfortable and offer a nice view of the Riverwalk from your balcony. They offer complimentary coffee each morning and service is very quick. You never felt that the hotel was taking care of anyone but you! A great find away from the convention center atmosphere and the larger chain hotels. Well worth it and made our visit special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

In a City of convention size hotels this boutique property has it all. The interior is done in good taste on a Ritz or Four Seasons level.

Breakfast was very good and the Riverwalk seating makes it even better. The staff is friendly and dedicated to taking care of guests needs. You can have complimentary coffee delivered to your room at any time plus the is a Nepresso machine in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piatty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We will only stay at Mokara when we come back to San Antonio. It has great access to the River Walk, but it is elegant and not "touristy" feeling. We randomly ended up in San Antonio for my birthday weekend. We were supposed to stay at the Grand Hyatt, but I was incredibly underwhelmed after we got there. We turned to Mokara based on other reviews. Mokara's concierge recommended a great local restaurant to for dinner. When we got back to our room, the staff signed a birthday cars for me and left us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries - so nice. All the rooms also have great soaking tubs. We are looking forward to our next stay in SA!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaegUT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful spa. The rooms are fantastic....just wait till you see the jacuzzi tubs in EVERY room! The staff is very helpful and very friendly. They have wonderful packages that even include wine with your turn down service. This is a must!

Room Tip: View of the Riverwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimmyMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This trip was our anniversary trip. From the moment I arrived, I felt so at home. The front desk staff were awesome at checking me in. The doormen were wonderful as well. I left some very important papers in a cab on the way from the airport to the hotel and Jaro managed to track down the cab and hand deliver them to my room. He also arranged for our transportation to and from the restaurant where we had our anniversary dinner and had a carriage waiting for us when we returned. I cannot say enough about the spa. I had the summer rain massage and my husband went for the more traditional. The room was huge beyond belief and our view of the riverwalk was awesome. The room was impeccably clean and the housekeeping staff is awesome. We had the breakfast package and the breakfast was delivered to our room and was set up for us. This was one of the best places I have stayed in San Antonio as this is a halfway meeting point for my husband and I since he works out of town and we meet at least once a month there. I will definitely return. The attention of the staff to detail is out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasChicobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,150 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#12 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing