We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing multi-level spa facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
FAIRFAX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing multi-level spa facility”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love a good spa and the Mokara has now become a favorite! My husband and I both enjoyed a spa day here while visiting San Antonio. I had the rain water massage and it was so relaxing. My husband had the arnica massage. Having had two back surgeries in the past year, he raved about having no pain for several days after the massage.
I also had a facial (by Heidi). She was simply amazing. I walked out feeling like my face looked 10 years younger.
The costs were reasonable in comparison with other spas. For the 3 treatments we paid around $600.
While at the spa facility we enjoyed their sauna's, roof top pool and hot tub. The outdoor pool was in the small side, but it had a great view of the city. The hotel staff graciously passed out chilled bottles of evian spray and offered cucumber/aloe towels. While we didn't eat at the pool, you could order lunch with your spa package and eat at an area off of the pool.
We stayed at the Mokara's sister property, however, if we travel back to San Antonio, we will certainly stay here. We enjoyed their restaurant frequently during our stay (Ostra) and thought the decor inside the hotel was very posh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taleci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    187
    48
    23
    17
See reviews for
200
773
45
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

the best hotel in san antonio the location the front desk the rooms are clean and nice i stayed in the corner river view it was too big and the bath was luxury and cleaned if you want luxury stay nice place to relax this is the best place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahad-alansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked a one night stay for our 32nd wedding anniversary; Wow! The entire staff was professional, courteous and very welcoming and congratulatory. We had a wonderful surprise upgrade of a two room suite with sparkling wine and fruit waiting! Very impressed with the beautiful decor and spaciousness of the room and bathroom! Had dinner at the hotel's restaurant Ostra and received great service with delicious food! Not your standard room rate, but it is worth every penny! Definitely book a riverview room! Thanks Mokara!

Room Tip: Definitely book a riverview room is that is important; the other rooms tend to have views of adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stxgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and all the positive reviews are correct. This is the place to stay in San Antonio. I knew this would be great when the concierge e-mailed me two days before my arrival and asked about my stay and how he could help. Then when there, the concierge was extremely helpful with information and restaurant reservations. The service continued at this level during our entire stay. The rooms are absolutely beautiful with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. The view over the Riverwalk is great. You can see the action but can also escape from it. You walk in the hotel and just relax. It is warm and comforting. The location is fantastic for being in downtown San Antonio. You can walk everywhere. The fitness center is bright and sunny and had excellent equipment. Room service was also prompt and delicious. Everyone from the front desk to the maids were friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely pleased that we were there. If you have the chance, stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Riverwalk. You get a small balcony and a good view of the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosier16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We throughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at this Riverwalk hotel. From the moment I booked our reservation, it was evident the service would exceed our expectations. The hotel and restaurant staff went out of their way to wish my husband "happy birthday", very attentive to our needs and the restaurant staff called us by name when we stopped in for drinks, appetizers or dinner. Given all the choices on the Riverwalk, we would definately stay here again. The location is very convenient for all the sights along the river. I must admit 2 nights were expensive, once all the taxes and garage parking were included... so maybe a special offer will entice us back sooner.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms probably do not overlook the riverwalk. Our room had a view of the parking garage, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Mokara is a first rate luxury hotel in a prime location on the River Walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from our early check-in to our late check-out (neither of which was a problem - service was excellent throughout). Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished, with a large comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom.

We really enjoyed using the roof-top pool (which we had to ourselves) and the state-of-the-art gym. We also enjoyed eating our delicious breakfast on the River Walk. We would thoroughly recommend splashing out on a stay at the Mokara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Let me start by saying this ain't our first rodeo! We are seasoned travellers who like to be pampered. Mokara Hotel and Spa are top notch in accomodations and pampering. They made us big, big fans of their hotel.

From our arrival in late evening until the minute we left, the Mokara staff was spectacular. My husband, daughter and I came in for an R&R weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday with a concert. All of the staff, and there are plenty of them, knew our names and seemed to know it was my husbands birthday trip. Every staff member we encountered, from maids to maintenance men in the hall, had a smile to greet us and a "Hello Wells family". You kind of expect recognition from the front desk or the valet you've been tipping, but from the maid in the hall who doesn't even clean your room? Wow!

We ordered room service breakfast. It was delivered precisely on time and piping hot. Complimentary fruit in the room was perfectly ripe and my daughter's chocolate chip cookie was even warm and gooey. Our second breakfast, eaten in the hotel restaurant, did not disappoint. There was a Sunday buffet and everything on it looked fresh and delicious. Again, the staff were perfectly attentive and welcoming.

Our room was plush, yet not pretentious and it overlooked the Riverwalk. There is also a wonderful clock tower outside of the hotel that charmingly rings on the hours, but not too loudly, just enought to give great ambiance. The in-room two person jacuzzi tub was an added bonus.

We visited the well-appointed spa and enjoyed wonderful, relaxing messages and facials. I foolishly left a necklace in the pocket of my robe. Five hours later, I returned to the spa and the front desk person, Denise, went back (cheerfully, mind you) and searched the laundry until she found it. Another spectacular Mokara staff member!

There are so many little things that they did just right. Suffice it to say, we will make this our hotel of choice whenever we return to San Antonio. Mokara staff, we miss you already!

Room Tip: We stayed in King room 474 with a walkout balcony and great view of the Riverwalk. Our daughter had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feather61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,725 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 355 in San Antonio
3,171 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 355 in San Antonio
1,671 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 355 in San Antonio
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing