We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful first visit to San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful first visit to San Antonio”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Mokara is the best Hotel by the Riverwalk the rooms are well furnished , the bathroom had a seperate shower and jaccuzi bath.
The staff were all very nice and pleasant . The restaraunt on the Riverwalk was great for breakfast .
Only one suggestions for the hotel . Improve the Wifi which was hard to connect to with an IPAD .
Other than that it is a very nice hotel , the rooms with balconys over the Riverwalk are worth the extra

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    187
    48
    23
    17
See reviews for
200
779
45
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went here last weekend for our 2nd wedding anniversary and it was fantastic! There was a nice card with champagne and strawberries and the concierge said the valet parking was on the house too. We ordered room service and it was delicious, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoBestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times, and we always recommend it to people who visit with us. Think small boutique hotel with Four Seasons service and accommodations. From the moment you walk in, you know you've picked the right hotel. Right on the River Walk central to everything San Antonio has to offer. Make sure to get a room with a balcony overlooking the River Walk for the ultimate in romance and people gazing. Food is top notch, and the rooms, though not large enough for a family getaway, are perfect for two and exude elegance. Don't make the mistake of booking elsewhere in San Antonio - you WANT to stay here - and the prices are ridiculously low for the value you are getting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest US
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Recently had a three night stay at the Mokara for a business meeting. The group I'm with usually stays at either Hilton or Marriott properties so this was a change. After staying here, it will be tough to go back to the old routine for our next meeting location. As the name says, there is definitely a huge spa aspect to this hotel...something you're not going to see at a typical hotel.

Check-In was quick and the person behind the counter was very friendly. She even escorted me to the elevator, showed me how to use my room card for accessing the floors and then got me on my way. The room was great. My biggest issue when I travel is looking to see how clean the room is. I was not disappointed here. The room was clean...really clean. The room was fairly standard...bed, desk area, flat screen tv. The bathroom is where this place excelled. It was huge...all tiled floor, glass door walk-in shower, separate toilet room and a giant tub. Really a high quality atmosphere.

The meeting room area was nice and our group was able to secure wi-fi access without any issues. The hotel does offer guests free wi-fi, but coverage in my room was spotty at best.

I did not use any of the spa services so I cannot recommend whether it was good or not, but I did pass by the spa area several times and it looked very classy. I also did not dine in the hotel, but they do have a very nice looking restaurant on the bottom level.

The hotel is located right in the river walk area. Go out bottom level access and you're on the river walk, so you can't beat that.

Overall, I would have to say this is one of the nicer hotels I have ever stayed in. Got spoiled a little bit and now it's back to the ho-hum Marriott and Hilton properties.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Waiting in our room was champaign and chocolate covered strawberries along with a note with information concerning our roof top dinner along with an anniversary card!!! Looking forward to our special time here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVerschoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was perfect from the moment we pulled up to valet the car. All staff were very friendly and helpful. While checking in they asked what brought us to the area and I told them it was our anniversary. The staff remembered us and many wished us a happy anniversary as we passed through the lobby on our way to dinner. The rooms are large and very comfortable with beautiful finishes and decor. Plenty of room for two to get ready in the bathroom. The jetted tub and large shower were so nice. We visited the rooftop pool and hot tub for a few drinks at the pool side bar. It was wonderful. We returned to our room to find a bottle of champagne and some chocolate truffles from the front desk. What a sweet touch! The location is perfect for a nice walk on the river. We will definitely stay here again. Fee internet is also a nice touch and we had no difficulties with it at the pool or in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dclem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, and the staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Rooms are gorgeous with super high ceilings, oversize bathrooms, and everything is impeccably clean and fresh. My wife and I stayed on night, and after the staff found out it was our anniversary, we happened to find a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice with chocolate truffles waiting for us after we returned from the pool. The rooftop pool and Jacuzzi are very nice, and although the pool is small, the poolside bar and cafe mean you can relax and enjoy the view. Breakfast on the roof with the morning San Antonio sun was wonderful. Hotel is right on the Riverwalk with a private elevator to the Riverwalk itself, and is in perfect proximity to all the restaurants. We shall return!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixOneZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,728 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 356 in San Antonio
1,691 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing