We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Recently had a three night stay at the Mokara for a business meeting. The group I'm with usually stays at either Hilton or Marriott properties so this was a change. After staying here, it will be tough to go back to the old routine for our next meeting location. As the name says, there is definitely a huge spa aspect to this hotel...something you're not going to see at a typical hotel.

Check-In was quick and the person behind the counter was very friendly. She even escorted me to the elevator, showed me how to use my room card for accessing the floors and then got me on my way. The room was great. My biggest issue when I travel is looking to see how clean the room is. I was not disappointed here. The room was clean...really clean. The room was fairly standard...bed, desk area, flat screen tv. The bathroom is where this place excelled. It was huge...all tiled floor, glass door walk-in shower, separate toilet room and a giant tub. Really a high quality atmosphere.

The meeting room area was nice and our group was able to secure wi-fi access without any issues. The hotel does offer guests free wi-fi, but coverage in my room was spotty at best.

I did not use any of the spa services so I cannot recommend whether it was good or not, but I did pass by the spa area several times and it looked very classy. I also did not dine in the hotel, but they do have a very nice looking restaurant on the bottom level.

The hotel is located right in the river walk area. Go out bottom level access and you're on the river walk, so you can't beat that.

Overall, I would have to say this is one of the nicer hotels I have ever stayed in. Got spoiled a little bit and now it's back to the ho-hum Marriott and Hilton properties.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Waiting in our room was champaign and chocolate covered strawberries along with a note with information concerning our roof top dinner along with an anniversary card!!! Looking forward to our special time here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVerschoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was perfect from the moment we pulled up to valet the car. All staff were very friendly and helpful. While checking in they asked what brought us to the area and I told them it was our anniversary. The staff remembered us and many wished us a happy anniversary as we passed through the lobby on our way to dinner. The rooms are large and very comfortable with beautiful finishes and decor. Plenty of room for two to get ready in the bathroom. The jetted tub and large shower were so nice. We visited the rooftop pool and hot tub for a few drinks at the pool side bar. It was wonderful. We returned to our room to find a bottle of champagne and some chocolate truffles from the front desk. What a sweet touch! The location is perfect for a nice walk on the river. We will definitely stay here again. Fee internet is also a nice touch and we had no difficulties with it at the pool or in our room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dclem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, and the staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Rooms are gorgeous with super high ceilings, oversize bathrooms, and everything is impeccably clean and fresh. My wife and I stayed on night, and after the staff found out it was our anniversary, we happened to find a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice with chocolate truffles waiting for us after we returned from the pool. The rooftop pool and Jacuzzi are very nice, and although the pool is small, the poolside bar and cafe mean you can relax and enjoy the view. Breakfast on the roof with the morning San Antonio sun was wonderful. Hotel is right on the Riverwalk with a private elevator to the Riverwalk itself, and is in perfect proximity to all the restaurants. We shall return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixOneZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for four nights, very nice hotel and great location to the riverwalk. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful . Te only down side while thier Internet is free it's unreliable and hard work.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms looking onto the riverwalk are bigger but mor expensive of course worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chooker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Most hotels in downtown San Antonio are of the predictable chain variety. You get what each chain typically provides (though at higher prices than usual because of area demand). There are also several local hotels that offer you historical eloquence at a price that is comparable to the high-end chains. But then there is Mokara. Also pricey but so much more contemporary and comfortably up-scale than anything we have encountered before in the downtown area. At last, San Antonio has gotten its first 21st century hotel and we look forward to staying at it again for another in-town getaway. It is ideally situated on the riverwalk, just south of the main channel, and a short walk from the noisier and more congested parts of the river area. Access to the riverwalk is provided by way of a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel itself. The décor in the hallways and bedrooms is tastefully done and has a nice, airy feel about it. The bed and furnishings are stylish and comfortable, and the bathrooms are amazingly large and accommodating. But there were a few blemishes. The size of our one-king bedroom was adequate for two people but less spacious than we might have liked. And our window looked out onto the brick wall of adjoining building – so now we know to ask for a room that looks out over the river. All in all, one of the better hotel experiences we have had and hard to believe it happened in our own backward. Highly recommended as long as price is not an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highway_Marker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

In a word this spot on the riverwalk was PERFECT. We have stayed at several properties over the last few years and this is hand's down the best, cleanest, most comfortable place we've stayed. It is pricy but worth the cost if you can afford for a special occasion. We've stayed at places costing more than this that haven't been nearly as nice in terms of cleanliness and amenity. The staff service was attentive yet unintrusive. We didn't feel crowded at all, a refreshing break from the crowd of the riverwalk...it is truly like an oasis from the hustle of the street. The room was quiet...the whole hotel was quiet. We were there as a couple on our 15th anniversary. Little things really added to the pleasure of the stay such as fresh fruit and fruit infused water in the lobby and workout room everyday. The rooftop pool and cafe were pleasant and enjoyable. Though there are a lot of nice locations in San Antonio, I'd stay here everytime as long as my wallet allowed it!

Room Tip: The riverwalk balconies are comfy and probably worth the extra cost...make sure you get a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,158 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,295 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#25 of 357 in San Antonio
4,023 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
2,086 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $268 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing