We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
119
91
33
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
91
33
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleshuttle serviceriverwalk areaamtrak stationthe river walkbusiness center downstairscold hard boiled eggsac blowerneed arisespancake machineshuttle vanpolice presencehalf mile walkpersonal travelfree breakfastcommerce streetsunset station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 260 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

From making reservations to our departure, staff were attentive and helpful. Because of construction in the hotel, we requested a room away from any noise. Our room was neat and clean. The hotel shuttle was prompt to deliver and pick us up from our events at the convention center. The drivers were helpful, one running inside to make an ice pack when another guest slammed the shuttle door on my fingers. Because of the excellent service and accommodations, I recommend this location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Charlyn_Trussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were booked at this hotel through hotwire's "secret hot rate hotels". It would have been a great deal but the hotel is under construction and it disrupted almost every aspect of our stay.

This hotel is in the middle of a major renovation and while we were there construction workers completely overtook the whole hotel. They were constantly using the elevator for moving supplies and the elevator was such a mess and not what you would expect from even a super, super budget hotel.

Something that will not change after construction is the terrible pool. Although small, it looks nice but is right in the parking lot and while we were there it never had any sun during any part of the day.

The positives are the free shuttle service to the river walk and the morning breakfast....try the cinnamon rolls! Overall, our room would have been fine if there was no construction.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Jordan B,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered and for the inconvenience the renovation has caused you. We deeply regret the negative experience and impressions you had about our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. Free shuttle service to the River walk makes the location very convenient. My king size suite was very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewelsminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

All of the staff here were great and the rooms were nice. Unfortunately at around 7am they started breaking tile with a hammer in the room directly above us. Of course we didn't get any sleep after that so we went down to the hot tub. Upon arrival a man with an industrial leaf blower started blowing sand and dirt all around the area so we didn't get any relaxation there either. I contacted the Manager and he said he couldn't do anything about it because I bought the room on Hotwire. I contacted Hotwire and they gave me the runaround. It's too bad people can't own up to their shortcomings. I definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel because of my experience even though it's nice with an excellent, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from where they will be hammering tile at 7am.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MateoVerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear MateoVerito,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. We want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We were attending a conference at the convention center. Many hotels were all booked so we ended up at the Holiday Inn. We checked in about 5pm. When we entered our room housekeeping did not have it cleaned yet. It was a nice room away from the elevators, pool & exercise room. We called the front desk. They apologized and gave us a new room and 2 free tickets for breakfast. Great customer service however, our new room ended up being across from the exercise room and next to the elevators (room 717). Not sure if you want this room. You can hear people lifting weights and the elevators all the time. Although it does have a river walk view which was nice.
Good-
Very clean rooms, comfortable pillows (soft and hard available), nice toiletries, very impressive breakfast (pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, variety of fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, biscuits/gravy, muffins, real OJ & strong coffee). The restaurant overlooks the river walk. Pretty good in-room coffee, nice fridge, tv, easy outlets accessible (on the lamps) to charge your phone. Clean hotel overall with newly, updated decor. There is an onsite restaurant & lounge. Also a small store in the lobby for quick snacks.
The hotel is on the river walk. A 15 minute walk on the river walk path will take you right to the convention center. I think the river walk path was safer than walking on the streets downtown. Make sure you take the river walk boat tour for $8.50 or you can take the dinner boat tour for a few dollars more. Plenty of restaurants on the river walk (best ones are The Real Mexican Restaurant, County Line BBQ, the cantina above the County Line). Also a Harley shop above the County Line. Awesome ice cream shop right outside the mall (right on the river walk) next to Hooters. Nice, low price souvenir shop next to The Real Mexican Restaurant.
There are tons of things to do & see in San Antonio.
Stop by the visitors center across from the Alamo to get money saving COUPONS for the Ripley's Believe it or Not museum, wax museum, restaurants, The Alamo, Ripley's Haunted, the crazy mirror place, Buckhorn museum, The Americas tower, trolley & bus rides etc. the river walk is very busy at night near the mall. There are other areas of the river walk (past the convention center) that's less crowded.
Not so great-
No carpet in the room which made it feel very cold and uninviting. The bed was really hard.




Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Soiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews