We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can't be used to describe the nightmare experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
Ranked #97 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

For the moment we walked in to the moment we walked out it was a horrible experience. We arrived and the first thing you see the whole front of the hotel is shutdown and they're workers present. When I showed my concern to desk and question why they failed to mention the remodeling when I called that morning, their response was it doesn't affect your stay. I knew at that point I should of just canceled my stay, but I continued the check in process. We literally dropped our baggage off and decided to take advantage of their "free shuttle bus". We were dropped off and told this is where you need to be to be picked up, and we run every 30 minutes. So we continued our family trip to beautiful River Walk. We decided to head back to the motel and called the shuttle at 7:54 to be picked up. We waited over 40 minutes and the shuttle bus was a no show. So we called again and we were instructed my the receptionist to walk 2 more blocks to a different pick up location, because "police" were not allowing the driver to head that direction. After almos another 30 more minutes of no shuttle bus we decided to take a taxi cab back to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel only to find out that shuttle bus wasn't and hadn't been picking up people nor dropping them off. The shuttle bus driver was no were to be found, and in "traffic". It was a nightmare for our family of 3 especially considering the fact that I'm currently expecting another child in less than 6 weeks. I asked for a refund considering the fact that we hadn't spend but maybe 5 minutes in our actual room. The General Manager of that location was extremely unprofessional and refused to give our family a refund and or offer to pay for our taxi cab back to the hotel. Definately not worth paying almost $180.00 for this type of service. The whole reason we had picked this location was because it painted a beautiful picture and the convinience of a shuttle ride to River Walk. Our family walked out and hopefully they will refund my money! I couldn't handle being in that poor excuse of a Holiday Inn Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zintia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Zintia C,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with our shuttle service and for the dissatisfaction our service level has caused you. We regret the poor experience you had during your visit.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff is the highlight of this hotel, especially Janie and Lulu. They are kind and friendly, eager to make guests feel comfortable. The hotel is in the midst of a remodel, so it is tough to judge quality. We had a nice, clean, spacious suite that gave my son and I space to relax without being over crowded. The biggest disappointment was the extra small pool and the over-chlorinated hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel and it was wonderful. First of all I must say that all the staff are so friendly and always available to help. The hotel is very clean and spacious. It is just a few blocks from downtown river walk area and has FREE shuttle service every half hour which was a big PLUS in my book! Check in was so easy and fast and again - I just cannot say enough about the helpful staff. They did everything to make us feel comfortable and happy in our hotel, and that we were. It is downtown, so of course there are questionable people walking around, but we felt safe and secure with a security guard there at night. Thank you Holiday Inn Express for a great vacation stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family usually likes Holiday Inn Express, BUT, this one is in the middle of a remodel, which is badly needed. The bar was small and unattended most of the time, the furniture, in our room, was dirty and worn and the laundry room was soooo hot!!! On the positive side the staff was friendly and the breakfest girls even put more breakfest out when several guest came to breakfest after 10am. By the way, the diningroom furniture was filthy, they really need new furniture. The walk to the Riverwalk is 7/10 of a mile, not 1/4 of a mile, still not a bad walk. They have a shuttle that is great and the driver is a great source for suggestions.

Room Tip: If the lobby is being remodeled, your probably gonna get an old room. They usually start remodels i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Cookie S,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your kind words on our staff and the breakfast. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while visiting our hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love visiting the River Walk in San Antonio. I grew up in SA and I just love going back. We have stayed many times at Marriott RiverCenter, and others. but if you want a great place to stay so you can easily walk to Market Square, The Alamo or King William District this is the place. You are on the river but you can walk easily to all of the sights downtown. Also totally revamped with great rooms, nice restaurant and service. Want a great place to stay without spending a fortune? Stay here. Remember you won't be in your room that much.

Room Tip: Join their Priority Club. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were there for what was probably considered the 'off season' (early February) and stayed for three days. It is situated close enough to River Walk in downtown San Antonio to be convenient for walking and the staff takes plenty of runs in the van if you're not down for the walk. The gal who drove the van was very knowledgeable and helpful. The neighborhood is generally quiet in this area. Breakfast was a definite highpoint for our son (age 5). The outdoor pool was not heated but that misunderstanding I will place with the AAA agent who helped us book. The hot tub worked just fine. The biggest negative was a rather lengthy (2 hours) drunken confrontation between a father and son, with plenty of shouting, expletives, stomping and slamming of doors) following a San Antonio Spurs game which I felt like the night staff did not handle nearly as well as they could have. We would stay there again. In the morning, the manager did apologize but did not offer a discount of any kind.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights for a conference. Conference shuttle busses do come to this hotel. Hotel also has a complimentary shuttle service that will take you to the river walk, alamo, conference center and market square. Continental breakfast is outstanding. Rooms are large and very clean despite the hallway floors being stained. I agree that the neighborhood can be somewhat rough, but that's why you should just use the shuttle service to go anywhere downtown. They will also pick you up. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Endurodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Alamo Suites
#92 of 358 in San Antonio
516 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area

Address: 1309 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#86 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $98 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area. We are also the closest Holiday Inn Express hotel to The Riverwalk, Convention Center, Rivercenter Mall, Alamo Dome. This San Antonio downtown hotel is 100% smoke free!! All of the guestrooms in our hotel include microwaves & refrigerators, complimentary in room coffee, complimentary high speed Internet access, & of course, our Simply Smart Bedding Collection as well as our Stay Smart shower head. Upgrade to one of our suites for additional space & comfort. All of the hotels suites include wet bars, sofa sleepers in the living room & separate televisions in the bedroom & living room. With features like free hot breakfast, free Internet access, free shuttle service to Convention Center, River Center Mall and Market Square, free parking, why stay anywhere else? Our friendly staff & special services make us the Smart choice when staying in San Antonio. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rivercenter Area & leave everything to us. Again, welcome to San Antonio!! We look forward to having you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
Holiday Inn Express Rivercenter
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing