We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverwalk Vista
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$268
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
$176
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$153
$149
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
$149
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
$242
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveler rating
367
123
27
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
123
27
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreet noisecomplimentary wineafternoon cookieswood floorsfresh baked cookiesteddy bear on the bednoise machinehistoric buildingcommerce streettall ceilingsbed and breakfastmodern bathroomsmall hotelcommon areasconvention centerthe river walkcharming hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 536 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The rooms are gorgeous in this hotel and the location is perfect for travelers who like being right in the center of the tourist madness. The rooms have ceilings that are probably 13' tall and windows that take up much of that height. The showers are fantastic, though dim. The furnishings are beautiful and in keeping with the restored loft style of the building. AC worked well and was quiet. Towels/sheets/etc are of very high quality.

The staff were very friendly, though you might not see them very often unless you look for them. We had some packages delivered via UPS and FedEx during our stay, and the hotel delivered them to our room immediately, which was unnecessary but still a nice touch.

Others have complained about street noise but it should not be a problem if you are accustomed to typical city noise.

The additional amenities, such as the light breakfast, the cookies, and the wine provided for happy hour, are all very nice touches.

The wired internet here is blazingly fast--such a nice amenity that so many hotels lack.

Given all of these fantastic features, I am giving this hotel 5 stars despite a problem that appeared our second night. We were invaded by large crickets--at least 15 made their way into the room, and there were another ten or so visible between the exterior window and the plexiglass that encases the windows. It was charming when there were only two, but after my flip-flop had been repurposed as a bug smasher and one jumped onto my shoulder while I was in bed, it turned into a genuine problem. I understand that this is a part of the Texas environment, but I'm surprised that it isn't possible to seal off holes large enough for such large insects to crawl through.

We think we may have found a solution for future visitors: reducing the temperature on the thermostat. Our first night the hotel had set the thermostat to 69 degrees and we had no problem. The next day we raised the temperature to 73 to conserve energy, and that night the bugs invaded. Eventually we decided to put it back to 69 to see if it would make a difference, and it appeared to have ended the invasion, though we cannot be certain. It is certainly worth a try if you experience this same problem.

All of this said, we still had a fantastic stay and would certainly come back next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

After the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor we chose to stay in San
Antonio for a long weekend. The Riverwalk Vista is a great location for
seeing the tourist attractions (in much over-rated city of San Antonio).
Our room (Hemisfair Vista Queen Standard) overlooking the Tower of the
Americas was comfortably furnished with rustic furniture.
However, the acrylic covering over the windows definitely does not fit
with the historical value of the building, double glazed windows would
certainly look much more appealing and block more noise. I mention this
as the noise for us was a problem, however, it may have been just our
section of the building.

The fragmented sleep from our stay here made us both very aggravated,
although we did not complain about the noise to anyone (a mistake in
hindsight; at the time we felt it was a weekend and all the other rooms
were most likely booked anyway) if you are planning on staying here
please speak to someone and do not get the room we had. I could not recommend the room we had based on this.

The bathroom was nice with the slate shower, and a separate area for the
hand basin - plenty of room for toiletries etc. The breakfast was
simple but filling and the free wine and cookies at the end of the day
were a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonWagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

This is a bed & breakfast located across the street from the famous Riverwalk, and only about two short blocks from the Alamo. The convenience is unsurpassed! Since it is a bed & breakfast, one should not expect the cookie cutter ambience of a Hilton or a Hyatt. Riverwalk Vista is located in a former warehouse, and the operators of the property have sought to incorporate the original wood and design into a facility with modern features and comfort. My wife and I sought a place that would give us a feeling of historical Texas and historical San Antonio, and we got it! Was it perfect? No. Could I find things to complain about? Maybe. If you're the complaining type, the type that is found in many reviews, I guess you'll find something at Riverwalk Vista to complain about. Beware of this: It doesn't look like entrance into the place is handicap accessible. You have to navigate up a flight of steps, with luggage, to get into the front door. Then, there is an elevator to the rest of the rooms. But maybe we just didn't see another way in. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldhickory5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

It is rare that one's hotel makes one's trip better, but that can be said of the Riverwalk Vista. Nice location, historic building, great rooms (with a goldfish included!), breakfast provided, wine in the afternoon, and oozing character. Some at the hotel claimed that their rooms could be noisy, but mine certainly was not. Furthermore, the hotel provides white noise machines in rooms to combat potential noise issues. When back in San Antonio, I will stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We visited San Antonio for a family wedding, The luxury hotel where a special wedding party price had been arranged cost as much as a resort. We were only looking for a comfortable place to sleep since most of our time in town would be spent at wedding events, but I did hope I could find someplace with some local atmosphere. This discovery is a gem that provided a lot more than that! The room was comfortable but also beautiful, and seemed even roomier than it was because of the fabulous tall windows framing a lovely San Antonio view. The public spaces were decorated with local antiques and wonderful contemporary quilts and pictures, and we shared the delicious continental breakfast with other interesting guests. This hotel occupies the upper floors of an historical building, so it has little street presence, and no bell staff. We will definitely try to stay here again when we come back to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPandF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews