We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverwalk Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverwalk Vista
Ranked #27 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Riverwalk Vista. It is a terrific location just across Losoya and down the stairs to the San Antonio Riverwalk. We could look out of our 12 foot tall windows and watch the boats cruising the river. It is in an historic wholesale grocer's building. From the outside it looks rather shabby. But our room on the third floor was very large, the bathroom had a stone walk in shower and thick, fluffy towels and the king bed had a mattress custom made in San Antonio with down pillows and comforter and high thread count sheets. Each morning there was a lovely homemade buffet breakfast--both hot and cold items.Each afternoon there was lemonade and homemade cookies. In the early evening both red and white wines were available. There is a common breakfast/sitting area and we enjoyed reading the newspapers and chatting with the other guests. All the employees were extremely helpful and willing to spend time discussing sites, restaurants and giving directions. For the view, the service, the food and the location; it was well worth the price.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the fabulous views but the rooms at the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    109
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
39
257
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Loved the unique, historic charm of this place. Gorgeous original hardwood floors and exposed brick everywhere. Expansive rooms, high ceilings, and large windows in the rooms as well as the common areas outfitted with cozy leather seating areas.
Great staff, delicious and unexpected choices at breakfast, along with a cookie and/or a nice glass of wine in the afternoon all make for an exceptional experience.
Being from New York CIty, I'm used to the noise and sleeping with a noise machine, but I can imagine some travelers might be turned off by the street noise. (I suggest they invest in some noise-canceling windows at some point, though that may be very difficult given the size of those gorgeous windows!)
All in all, a great experience in a great location. I will definitely stay here again if my travels bring me back to San Antonio.

Room Tip: I'm sure some rooms are quieter than others, so be sure to ask for a room that doesn't face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The staff was so friendly and welcoming. The hotel had a boutique feel. The location is right across the street from the Riverwalk and is so convenient. Parking is only one half block away. I felt safe in this area. We were close to all the bars and restaurants. Loved this hotel! !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle_Balsamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

What others are calling charming and historic, I consider run-down and old. Maybe I didn't do my homework and read enough about this hotel so I will just post photos and let you decide for yourself. For $225/night I expect a LOT more than a noisy room with shabby furnishings and poor quality interior that is not well taken care of. You know if they give out ear plugs at the front desk that there is a problem with noise!!! The inn keepers were all very nice and responsive and the breakfast and afternoon cookies were much better than your average hotel fare. I think they can get away with this because the location next to the Riverwalk can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wishflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwalkVista, General Manager at Riverwalk Vista, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for the second time about your recent stay with us. I have responded to your first review dated January 31, 2014 and will address this review as well.

We do appreciate your input. We offered to help find different accommodations at another hotel without charging the guest for the nights they have booked. They declined and said they love it here. Perhaps it was a hectic travel day for them and once they were settled in they felt different. They even brought friends up for a tour of their room and the common areas. The Riverwalk Vista is located in a prime location; we are a few steps from all the major tourist attractions which is a huge attraction for all our guests.

We discovered the couch cushion after this guest checked out. It seems the guest was able to arrange the cushions in this unattractive manor for the photograph. We are always happy to address any maintenance issues given the guest notifies us during their stay.

Innkeepers
Riverwalk Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

It makes you feel like you are at home. It is beautifully decorated and centrally located. Patty, the concierge, was charming, and the breakfast was delicious.. My 8 year old thought Patty was funny and became fast friends with her. She reminded me of what I like about great small hotels-thoughtful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Riverwalk Vista was a great choice! We loved our room - the furniture was very comfortable, great bathroom and love the open/common areas in the building! David was very helpful in helping us choose restaurants! Very nice to have wine also when we went back to take a short break between our afternoon sightseeing and evening out. Pattie and Catherine were very nice and also helpful. We love smaller boutique style hotels and this one was just perfect! The location is great - just walk across the street, down the stairs and you are on the river walk!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradise58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Riverwalk Vista last week and wanted to stay longer, so charmed were we by this tiny gem of an inn. The soaring ceilings and huge windows made the room feel airy and large; the bed was comfortable and the linens soft, not starchy; the shower was sumptuous and elegant; and the staff were delightful. Catherine provided perfect restaurant recommendations for both lunches and was a friendly and cheerful presence throughout. Breakfast was simple but delicious (those green chile quiches!) and the lounge was a great place to sit and leaf through a magazine. We'd love to return for a future trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
2,827 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,030 reviews
Menger Hotel
#30 of 354 in San Antonio
2,184 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 354 in San Antonio
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Vista

Property: Riverwalk Vista
Address: 262 Losoya St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#55 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverwalk Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Vista San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing