We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Centrally-located, restored inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverwalk Vista
Ranked #35 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Centrally-located, restored inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Riverwalk Vista combines its restored, historic-style furnishings with modern comforts and conveniences. The rooms are really quite lovely, with high ceilings, plentiful natural light and a unique feel. Excellent location too, right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    102
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
33
240
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What an ideal location close to the Alamo, the Riverwalk, and the local trolley transportation. Entrance to the Riverwalk is less than a half block away with the Alamo and trolley transportation just two to three blocks around the corner. Very personal service here- each person on site was exceptional. Unlike a hotel this inn is more like a bed and breakfast. The room was great- hardwood floors- no dirty carpets and a very modern bathroom. In the evening the room we were in was quiet - no noise from the Riverwalk. Coffee always available with yummy cookies in the late afternoon. In the morning there is a variety of breakfast items, including a different hot item each day. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrterriers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is historic, comfortable and clean yet still has modern accommodations like stone tile in showers and free wifi! The historic part comes with the exquisite original wood floors, 12 foot ceilings and floor to ceiling windows in every room!! They are directly across the street from the Riverwalk and within walking distance to the convention center, the Alamo and a plethora of other entertainment! The staff is extremely knowledgeable of their city and take the time to walk you to your room or help with bags! I have stayed here ever year for the last 4 years and Mrs. Patty always remembers me! She even remembers that I brought my Mother one year and always asks how she's doing! That personal touch makes up for the parking garage you have to use up the street.

Room Tip: Because this hotel is historic they do not have a fitness center or a pool. This may effect your ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 841honesty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vista the same night the Spurs beat Miami in game 3 of the playoffs....Even though we are from Florida it was fun to view the revelers parading around the square just below our room.

If you like historic hotels you will love this one. Rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good.
Only inconvenience was parking...had to park across the street a block away. Yet, everything we wanted to see and do was within walking/ busing distance.
Close to the Alamo which was nice too.
Since you are right by Riverwalk you have easy access to all the restaurants and bars. It was fun to see the Spur fans who rented a boat, decorated it in San Antonio colors and parade down the river.
Best restaurant was Saltgrass...had a wonderful steak while sitting at the bar...good drinks too.
Disappointed in Acenar restaurant...ordered snapper and was served tilapia. I think they tried to sneak it past me...we complained and left...went to a Mexican restaurant down the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsklhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved this little hotel. 1 Block from the Alamo and right on the Riverwalk this was a great location for our San Antonio visit. The breakfast was included and it was fabulous. For a fancyu dinner, try the Emily Murphy hotel - fabulous Mac n cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OilerFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is just lovely. Large rooms with a very vintage feel. This place was just perfect for my husband and I. Very clean and tidy. The staff was super sweet. Complimentary cookies, wine and breakfast daily. No complaints here. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rateyourarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Riverwalk Vista. From the moment we walked into the 1880's renovated building and looked up to the 12 foot ceilings, antique quilts hanging on the walls, and the ceiling height original windows themselves, we knew we picked the right hotel for us. Located in the middle of the Riverwalk district right across from the Commerce Street entrance, it's a short walk to the Alamo and right next to some fun restaurants and bars. Every morning we had a hearty breakfast including a hot entree, fruit, scones, cereals, etc and 24 hour coffee, tea, and filtered water. In the evenings we had a freshly baked cookie and a glass of wine, which was a nice start to an evening walking along the Riverwalk or other downtown spots. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about local restaurants as well. The hotel has only 17 rooms, which makes it nice and quiet...on the inside. Unfortunately, being right in the middle of things, there was traffic noise that even the plexiglass lined windows could not keep out. There was a white noise machine in our room that masked most of it so sleeping was not a problem, especially since the beds are very comfy..and the bathroom has a nice slate tiled walk-in shower and granite topped vanity. We did not have a car so I can't report about the offsite parking, which others have mentioned. If we visit San Antonio again we will definitely stay at the Riverwalk Vista.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 3earlyriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,301 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,400 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Vista

Property: Riverwalk Vista
Address: 262 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2610
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#55 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your Riverwalk Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Vista San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing