We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxed Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverwalk Vista
Ranked #36 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Riverwalk Vista. Our room was beautiful: rustic but elegant at the same time with distressed leather seating, wood floors, brick walls, slate shower, granite counters...A corner king sized room overlooking the Riverwalk on both sides. We only had to walk across the street to eat at amazing restaurants and enjoy the sights. We really enjoyed playing cards with friends in the common dining/living areas of the hotel. Staff were super helpful...we could hear the traffic, outside noise but This probably comes with the territory staying smack dab in the heart if a city...I sleep with earplugs anyway so no problem. My husband sleeps through anything. There is a white noise machine in the room. We really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auburn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    103
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
33
241
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

For our second holiday to San Antonio we chose 5 nights at Riverwalk Vista and we can't fault the place. Breakfast was provided daily until 10am as well as cookies in the afternoon and wine in the early evening. Fresh bananas, coffee, tea, hot choc and water was available all day every day. The lift to the 3rd floor was handy for luggage but one has the option to take a stair case instead. Our room was 305, level 3 and facing the street. We were surprised how quiet it was overnight given the hotel is above a McDonalds restaurant. The room is decorated with a rustic theme (common areas are too). We love rustic so it appealed to us. The room was clean, bed was comfy, shower was powerful and had a range of water temps. We also had free wifi in our room. The location can't be beat. Just over the road are the steps down to the bustling part of the Riverwalk. Half a block away is a car park. There are food and drink options within a very short walk. The Riverwalk Center (shopping & cinemas) and The Alamo are a couple of blocks away. The staff were so friendly and helpful too. They booked taxis for us, provided advice on where to park our car and just generally were happy to chat. We plan on returning to SA annually and this will be our home away from home.

Room Tip: Can't complain about room 305. Good view, quiet from both internal and external noise. Close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was in San Antonio at a convention and my secretary scheduled me to stay the week at the Riverwalk Vista. It was a great experience. Half a block from the Riverwalk and several blocks from the convention center. I couldn't ask for a better location.

Upon arrival, I was asked if I needed help with my bags and then directed to get in the elevator and come to the third floor. I was personally shown to my room (Room 304), was given my room key, yes I said room key, and explained where everything was in my room. The staff was also very helpful with restaurant information in the area.

I also enjoyed wine set out every afternoon at 5:00pm and having coffee available around the clock. The ambiance was very nice and quite on the inside. Great for reading a book or studying, as I was taking a class at the convention.

During the night, the noise outside was louder than other hotels I have stayed at but you have to realize that if you book a hotel on the Riverwalk for a Friday/Saturday night, you have to expect some noise. You are on the Riverwalk for crying out loud. I was in and out numerous times throughout the night and never worried about homeless people on the steps or anything.

The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower was awesome. The rain type shower head was great since I am so tall.

Overall, a great experience. I am already planning on bringing my wife back for a weekend get-away. Thank you for the great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were very excited spending a few days in San Antonio the end of November. I chose the Riverwalk Vista Inn b/c of all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor.
Our check-in was quick, but we were very disappointed in the room itself and you only had a normal key to lock your room. Although the Inn is close to the Riverwalk, the room seemed very dated for the nightly rate.
After our first night, my husband left our room and the guests across the hall extended their bedroom into the common area. They also locked the door to the common area, so noone could get in from the main hallway. Never seen anything like this before. We had to wait until after 7am until the Innkeeper on duty arrived to discuss our concerns. It seemed to us they were not going to help to resolve the problem. Supposedly there was a night guard, but we certainly didn't see one. Well, to make a long story short, we moved to a different hotel.
Regarding this Inn, make sure you read their cancellation policy. For instance you have to cancel 10 days prior to your arrival (which seems excessive).
I have learned my lesson. We will be staying at major hotels from now on.

Room Tip: Stay at a hotel directly on the Riverwal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gisela67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I looked for hours for a hotel that could accommodate my unique needs for this trip. I needed a hotel in San Antonio that could entice my 90 year old grandmother out of her own house in San Antonio with a limited number of steps and personal touch. I needed a space that was unique enough to satisfy my Manhattan-ite mother with a work space and a tv in front of a couch to satisfy her insomnia needs. And I needed a place with enough privacy for each of us that we enjoyed each other instead of killing one another. Riverwalk Vista had it all! It's unique and upscale without being intimidating. The staff worked with me to give us three rooms down a hallway that we could close off so the space was just ours. The two room suite had a living room work space with it's own bath (perfect for my mother) and a bedroom with the bath right next to the bed (perfect for my grandmother). With me across our private hall we could leave our doors open and wander back and forth - or not. There were also other common spaces throughout that allowed us to have a leisurely breakfast (provided) and catch up without being rushed. The Riverwalk across the street gave us plenty of sightseeing, dining, and wandering time. And, the access code entry and format of the hotel made it feel like city apartment living instead of a stuffy hotel. Now, it was noisy. But, since all of us have lived in large urban spaces before this was not an issue at all. In fact, I would go so far to say that it made my NYC mom feel right at home. In other words, totally satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Though the location and amenities were above average, I would not recommend staying here, unless you too will be partying until 2 a.m. During my stay, Christmas Week, the street noise and next door television noise did not cease until 2:00 a.m. Also, below my window, the city was running some sort of repair involving sewage/water (?) which involved loud engines and workmen shouting.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms available off of Losoya St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMAltitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It is way too loud to enjoy any type of rest or relaxation. We could hear every step, conversation, vehicle that passes outside our window. Other than the obnoxious noise, everything else was average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HahnHahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,311 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,402 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Vista

Property: Riverwalk Vista
Address: 262 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2610
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#55 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and TravelClick so you can book your Riverwalk Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Vista San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing