We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay!”
Review of Riverwalk Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverwalk Vista
Ranked #27 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO, USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“fantastic stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I had arranged a number of rooms for an industry conference (our professional group was composed of one woman and nine men), and heard afterwards from each of my fellow travelers that they were most impressed by the Riverwalk Vista. We certainly appreciated the afternoon wine, lemonade and fresh cookies. Breakfast was bountiful, fresh, and tasty, the rooms very attractive (pets are provided in the form of fish), the bed marvelously comfortable, and the (wired) network access worked quickly and easily. The bath was clean, and while I chose to move my very fancy coffeemaker from the counter onto the floor (since I was staying for over a week), it didn't really pose a problem.

Yes, there is street noise, especially on a Saturday night, but if one travels often and is familiar with the variance in ambient noise levels at hotels, one usually brings along some form of earplug. White noise generators are provided in the room, which worked quite well, such that I only needed to use my earplugs a couple of times.

The hotel is located a mere five minutes walking time from the convention center, and is thirty seconds from the Riverwalk. Good food is abundantly available nearby. If one wants to park a car, there are parking lots within a couple of blocks, and there is a 30-minute "offloading parking area" in front of the hotel. I felt quite safe in the neighborhood, and the hotel is additionally secured by a keycode locking system.

Our little group is already planning to return for our next exhibition in San Antonio. Many thanks to Catherine, Anet, and especially Patti, who made us feel so very much at home.

  • Liked — attention to detail for comfort
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 3dvizwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    116
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
40
268
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I was in town for an industry conference and needed close access to the Marriott, which was full. So I found the Vista which work out fine for my purposes. I read all about the noise problems that others had reported, but this wasn't a problem for me. My only gripe is that it was not as utilitarian as I would have liked. Spare me the rubber ducky in the shower, the fuzzy bear on the bed, and other pretentous stuff. I just want a clean and comfortable room.... a little space around the sink and a place to hang my hand towel would be nice too.

My only real objection was the sewer gas smell in the bathroom. As long as you leave the door open, it airs out a little and is more tolerable. The center of the bathroon floor has a drain and apparently they didn't install a trap. So, you have a constant sewer gas smell. At first I thougt that the trap was just dry, so I poured water down the drain to seal the trap and stop the smell. But that didn't have any affect.

My wife places more importance on looks than function. She wasn't with me on this trip but she probably would have liked the Vista much more than me.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank companynickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stayed at this place for one night. Was scheduled for two nights.The noise is really bad. Street noise till 3:00 am. The closest parking place is a block away. We stayed in a Hugman suite paying $280.00 per night.We had crickets in the. For tis pric it was not acceptable. We could not stand two nights and I explained the problems to the manager. We lost our money for the second night.This place is way over priced for the location and room.They had white noise machines to cover up the street noise. Still very noisy

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MD030649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwalkVista, Manager at Riverwalk Vista, responded to this review, September 16, 2007
The Riverwalk Vista staff does its best to make all guests feel comfortable and happy when given the chance to do so. This guest made his complaint as he was checking out, without letting us make the situation right. We feel that he was unhappy with the parking for his extra large truck, as none of the parking structures downtown, including the one we recommend, were able to accommodate a vehicle of such large size. After calling around, we were able to find a safe spot for the truck at another hotel for the first night of his stay. The second night he would need to park his vehicle in an open air lot.
The complaint he made to us was that he was allergic to feathers and down and thought we used these in our beds. He said he and his wife were stuffed up and having allergy symptoms the entire night. We actually use all hypoallergenic pillows and bedding, and feel these would not create this effect. We never allow pets or smoking at the Vista to minimize allergy exposure for everyone.
He did not mention to us that he was bothered by noise. As we are located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, and his room overlooked the Riverwalk on a busy Saturday night, it would have been difficult to avoid some noise. We have an extra-thick acrylic covering over our windows and white noise machines in each room to mask people and traffic sounds. We would have moved him to an east-facing room which normally less noise exposure if we had known, plus Sunday nights in San Antonio are much quieter in general.
The crickets are a city- and state-wide problem, considering the amount of rain south Texas has received this year. The damp conditions and extra foliage have made San Antonio the perfect spot for crickets. We have used pest control repeatedly this summer, and we clean assiduously on a daily basis to minimize the problem. Fortunately, the cricket season is coming to an end.
We are sorry this guest did not stay to experience all of what the Riverwalk Vista has to offer. As a small historical property, we want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us, and take part in this fun city. This guest was too concerned about the safety of his over-sized vehicle to do so. We wish we’d been given the chance to make him happy.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Wow! If you want a special getaway you have to stay here. Their special touch was unbelievable. From the cookie time, Wine happy hour, to the teddy bear on the bed and of course don't forget about the gold fish in the room. We took our first family vacation to Sea World and they made my family seem like we were the only ones there. They knew us by name as well as my 2 and 4 year old. You ask for anything and there it is....Try that at a chain!...We will definitely be back! Just Love it

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger-Suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

The property has every bit as charm as the photos - but we ran into a few issues. Three main issues: Musty smelling room, crickets, street noise. It had rained for a week or so prior to our stay - this could have contributed to the EXTREME musty/damp smell in our room. We poked our heads into a few other rooms and they did not have that same smell. We did have crickets, but not to the extent as the last traveler. But DID we ever have street noise!!!!! The best time to sleep was 4 a.m. to 7a.m. Other than that we heard all cars, music, garbage trucks - you name it.

Great things about the property: breakfast; staff (Irma was awesome); location; the bed and pillows; common areas.

Considering everything mentioned, we found several other properties we would probably choose for our next San Antonio stay.

  • Liked — location; breakfast
  • Disliked — street noise; musty smell; crickets
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

What a great place with great staff! The friendliness of the staff made us feel as though we were staying in somebody's home. Just great people.

The hotel was very clean, beautiful wood floors, wonderful old wooden furniture. It felt like going back in time. They also included nice little touches such as a little package of thin cookies on your night table, a cute teddy bear on your bed (you can buy them too), and a beta fish on your desk! They also made an incredible breakfast each morning--not just some continental garbage. They provided fresh baked cookies each afternoon and wine in the late afternoon.

Overall, a great place and we are wanting to go back.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ebubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Worst hotel experience ever. There were crickets everywhere. They were inside of the walls and crawling out and jumping around continuously. Tried to plug up some of the holes with toilet paper and it helped a little. Could not sleep because you could hear them jumping around all night long, and even had two jump on my face during the night. It would have been a lot cheaper to just go camping. We cancelled our second nights stay because the problem was so bad and stayed at The Druiry Inn and Suites. We were told the cricket problem was everywhere throughout San Antonio but did not see anything at the Druiry neither did my in-laws at The Crowne Plaza. Before you book ask about the cricket problem and if it still exists, stay somewhere else. Trust me.

  • Liked — Awesome slate shower
  • Disliked — Cricket infestation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EricDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverwalkVista, Manager at Riverwalk Vista, responded to this review, July 23, 2007
We are happy to refund a dissatisfied guest which we did. San Antonio is under a cricket invasion because of all the wet weather it came earlier and much much heavier. We have the entire building including outside spayed once a week because of this unusual occurrence. We are only three story's tall so the crickets are able to crawl up the exterior of the building easier unlike the huge high rise hotels this guest is referring to. The cricket situation is not just the Riverwalk Vista it is most of Texas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,843 reviews
Menger Hotel
#25 of 356 in San Antonio
2,401 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Vista

Property: Riverwalk Vista
Address: 262 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2610
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#55 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Riverwalk Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Vista San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing