We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious seafood and authentic Mexican flavors”
Review of El Bucanero

El Bucanero
Ranked #69 of 5,238 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

We chose to eat here based on the positive trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed! The atmosphere is fun with the walls painted with various sea creatures, and we also got to hear a mariachi band perform! The food was great starting with the squeezy bottles full of what must have been homemade sauces that were all delicious, and then the seafood dishes were absolutely heaped with fresh fish, shrimp and octopus. The prepared oysters were raw oysters smothered in ceviche, which were fresh and fantastic. The mixed fish and shrimp ceviche was also great and tangy with lots of lime juice. The camarones la diabla (devil shrimp!) were super tasty with their spicy and garlicky sauce. Only the shrimp and octopus tostada was a bit of a letdown because the seafood was plain with no lime juice or spices, although still very fresh. I would definitely return to try more dishes as the menu was extensive!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2017

Great seafood! Everything we ordered was so fresh and delicious. Reasonable price for the amount of food we got. Our waiter was very nice and helpful. This place is a must if you love fresh seafood!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank allabouthappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

First, it is a heavily weighted seafood menu and neither of us tried the seafood - so that may be their secret. However, the tea was cloudy, the sauces were some type of pureed peppers with no actual salsa, and the carne asada had no flavor. My wife's chicken enchiladas also lacked flavor. When we entered the restaurant it smelled like a fish market, not like cooked meals. Overall average or below for the area. I won't return and would not recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R9731IVjamesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

We live around this area and have never visited this restaurant. Well, tonight we decided to go. I felt like we were transformed to Mexico. Quite the loud ocean scenery on the walls (love it) and a mariachi band playing. We love ceviche and can’t really find it here in San Antonio. We ordered the ceviche mixto and it did not disappoint. We ordered the medium which was actually a meal for 2! I ordered sopas and my husband ordered the seafood tortilla soup. Both were delish.
We will return again.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

We where directed to this restaurant (and i use that word very loosely!) by the motel staff where we are staying. From the outset the menu is all Spanish, which doesnt help if you dont speak Spanish! The food was very poor for Mexican fare. Maybe i have high standards for my food flavours and textures but these meals were very large and lacked any flavour, texture, quality or pizzazz. Essentially they were massive meals (which will appeal to some), but i prefer quality over quantity.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank gjl3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Bucanero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing