We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Antonio KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We called from the road around 2:30 in the afternoon about rv space availability late that evening. They said we should reserve a spot right then. We called again before their office closed to tell them we couldn't make it in time. They said they needed 24 hours notice and charged us full price, anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scoutabout63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed in a Kabin and it was great for what it was. Bring your own linens, walk to clean showers and bathroom, charcoal grill outside and a porchswing. There's no firepit. The property is along a creek and surrounded by trees, it's one of the prettier KOAs and doesnt resemble a parking lot like many RV parks. It's gated and you need a gate code to enter after 10, there's a guard at the entrance so it's safe. It's near an event center, so you may run into traffic getting back if you are there on the weekends. It's mainly used for RV's, I wouldn't tent camp here though, but I'd rent cabins again for sure. It's a great place if you're traveling on the dime and not expecting luxury. It is about 20 minutes to the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goinggorsuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was my first time at a KOA campground. I found the staff at the park to be very courteous and helpful for the 2 days we were there. The main baths were some of the cleanest and best maintained I have seen. The instructions on locations were very good. The only gripe I might have was the WIFI was an on and off again thing and the speed was poor. Other than that I would stay again with no second thoughts about reserving.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We bought our Travel Trailer in late 2011. Until now we have only camped in State Parks. This was our first stay at a KOA and I must say that it was pleasurable. The park is very well maintained and very clean. The previous persons review stating that the restrooms are very clean is dead on. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and courtious. Also anytime you pass by one of the KOA staff in the campground they always are friendly and say hello. While the park is not exactly located in the best part of San Antonio, we never at all felt anything but safe. The park has lots of trees that provide a very good amount of shade. This wasn't a factor during our stay, but in the HOT Texas summer, that will be very nice. We will definetely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The recent post about the San Antonio Alamo Campground is totally false and untrue. I was there when the disgruntled camper came to the desk. There were numerous campers checking in and the rude couple expected the manager to drop everything and accomodate them. They were seeking a monthly site and the manager was trying hard to find them a good site. The reason the manager handles all the monthly sites is so that the site will accomodate the various rigs coming in.
Their remarks to the manager were nasty and hurtful.
This is an outstanding park. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. I've been staying in KOA's for years and this is one of the crown jewels in the KOA system. This park has not won the Founder's award and President's award for the past numerous years by being rude and uncaring towards its customers.
Don't let one insensitive, grumpy camper keep you from staying at the Alamo KOA.

Room Tip: I would absolutely stay at this KOA anytime in the San Antonio area. Good location to downtown and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CamperAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We really enjoyed this campground, even as tent campers. The facilities are great. The showers/bathrooms are very clean and very nice. The tent sites are not private, but are nicely sized. It is very conveniently located to the Interstate and is 15 to 20 minutes to downtown. The bus even stops outside the campground, making it very easy to spend the day in downtown. That said, it was very quiet and no road noise from the Interstate.

The pancake breakfast was a great value and quite tasty.

The staff was very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Watch out for Fiesta in mid-April
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed for 1 week in a kozy cabin. It was very new, clean, good tv, good aircon, good shower, good kitchen. Nice deck with 2 picnic tables outside, and a bbq.The queen bed is comfortable, but noisy as it is covered with plastic. no bedding or pillows so bring your own.The second bedroom is small with 2 bunkbeds, good for 2 kids or 1 adult.
The pool & hot tub are great. I don't know why people are complaining about no pool heater it's Texas the water was warm but still refreshing. The hot tub was hot. The staff were friendly. Free wireless internet, and a desktop computer and telephone for local calls were available to use. All in all a great campsite.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Blazing Star Luxury RV Resort
Blazing Star Luxury RV Resort
#4 of 25 in San Antonio
85 reviews
Travelers World
#3 of 25 in San Antonio
55 reviews
Northwest Side
La Cantera Resort & Spa
La Cantera Resort & Spa
#28 of 357 in San Antonio
3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,162 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
1,168 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio KOA Campground

Address: 602 Gembler Rd, San Antonio, TX 78219-3122
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in San Antonio
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
San Antonio Koa Campground Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing