We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preferred B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Ranked #2 of 42 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A very nice, cozy, well run establishment. In the heart of downtown San Antonio with easy walking access to main downtown attractions. A safe, family-friendly area of town.

Be certain to ask Deborah the stories behind each breakfast she serves.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marytheotokos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind words! We love speaking to guests individually and sharing our knowledge and passion for the San Antonio area. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 234 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

This B&B is what I believe to be a rare find. A beautifully restored and appointed antique home. The host and staff were welcoming and helpful. The food was comprised of original recipes that could only be described as gourmet. We have stayed in many hotels but none have had an experience and ambiance that have left us with wonderful memories such as this. Our expectations were exceeded.
The location lends itself easily to accessing the many attractions that San Antonio has to offer. My wife and I parked the car when we arrived and didn't use it again till we left. The City is exceptionally pedestrian and bicycle friendly. We spent two days walking adventurously from the house to the River Walk, the Alamo and even Market Square. Several exceptional restaurants are also within close walking distance. A self made tour of antique homes can easily start from the front door. We enjoyed being able to relax on the veranda after our refreshing walks.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room on the second floor that has a semi-private veranda with a southern v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td1per29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Guest- Thank you for your wonderfully kind words! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our hospitality, charm and service. On your next trip to San Antonio, we have additional historic and art sites to share with you. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a great stay at Eva's Escape! Our Magnolia room was perfect, and the home was beautiful and well appointed. The breakfast was amazing and the afternoon wine and cupcakes was a great time to meet other guests. The location was convenient to a few bars and restaurants (walking distance), and other activities within walking distance. We will definitely be back again! Deborah and her staff were wonderful hosts, and provided lots of info about the home and the neighborhood.

Room Tip: We had the Magnolia room, which has a wonderful veranda that faces the street. A great veranda to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj-jj-houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Guest- We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us during your recent stay. Our goal is to provide the most hospitable experience for your stay, and we are glad to hear our customer service delivered. We look forward to you coming back so we can make your experience in San Antonio memorable once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our two nights at Eva's Escape was unlike any bed and breakfast stay we had experienced.

The home has been beautifully restored and many of those little extras that make a B and B memorable are here: chocolates on the pillows, complimentary wine before dinner, books and games at hand. Our room was very comfortable and clean (although the staff had left dirty glasses and cleaning supplies on the dressers).

What made the stay unusual?

Breakfast was served at two long tables, placed parallel to each other in the dining room. One was pushed flat against the window; the other had chairs around it but there was hardly enough room to squeeze in. Difficult to have a conversation!

And made more difficult by the fact that someone had chosen breakfast hour to vaccuum the stairs just ten feet away.

The food was unusual: a small coissant, a beef sausage and half a baked potato.

But the strangest part of it all was that there was no one who took on the responsibility of guiding guests to San Antonio's sites. Food came in and out of the kitchen but no one served as your host. If you needed assistance in choosing a restaurant, making a reservation, getting directions, well you were on your own.

We choose to stay in B and Bs because we enjoy sharing experiences with other travellers and feeling a sense of welcome that is hard to find in the average hotel. The rates at Eva's Escape were similar to those of a downtown hotel. Too bad they don't earn them with the service you would expect to receive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear BarbKE,
We are disappointed your stay did not meet yours or our standards. We are reviewing our procedures to ensure our check-in and housekeeping policies align with our mission to treat each guest like a VIP.

The Breakfast Potato Boat disguises eggs wonderfully. Our potato has egg, bacon, green onions, sour cream and cheese and it is one of our meals we serve when guest like you request no green vegetables. I recall you said you enjoyed the red velvet pancakes on National Pancake Day. As morning host and cook, I wear both hats and often it is challenging however, I look forward to talking to the guest daily.

We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves and offer you a complimentary one night stay the next time you travel this way. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Deborah and her staff are warm and welcoming, and her home is lovely. Eva's is part of the King William Historic District, and the house is over one-hundred years old. We stayed in "Lily" which was the downstairs room; WiFi and Netflix were available at no charge. The bath is quite European (toilet and small shower), but it may not be the best choice for those who are accustomed to a tub or to a shower seat. The basin is located in the bedroom proper. After check-in we were told that it was difficult to secure reservations in the rooms that had larger baths which were upstairs.There is a step-stool for access to the high-king half-tester bed (if you are petite). The menu for breakfast is set with consideration for those with food allergies. Our schedule allowed us to eat the day that the menu listed red velvet pancakes, fresh fruit, turkey sausage, juice, coffee, and tea. If other options were available, we were not aware of it. Wine, cheese, tea, coffee, and sweets were available in the afternoons. Two ladies traveling felt quite safe at Eva's.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs may have larger bath areas and may be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kudzugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Guest- Thank you so much for your kind words, and for taking your time to let us know how we are doing! We strive to provide excellent accommodations, while maintaining a warm and hospitable atmosphere. We are glad to hear you and your party enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location in a wonderful and very interesting part of San Antonio. Easy to walk to the downtown area. The innkeeper and her help were friendly and very hospitable. An all around lovely experience. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Amy- Thank you so much for your kind words! Our goal is to ensure each guest has a great experience. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Eva's was truly an Escape. This beautiful B&B is charming and the decor lovely. Right in the heart of the River Walk - you couldn't ask for more private retreat. They thought of everything! Deborah and her staff are a delight. Gracious in every way and excellent in the kitchen. We felt so welcomed and left relaxed. We would highly recommend this GEM to anyone visiting San Antonio!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. It brings a smile to our face to hear about the positive experiences our out of town guests have at our B&B. We truly appreciate your future recommendations and we hope you stay with us the next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,117 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,251 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,931 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn

Address: 307 Beauregard, San Antonio, TX 78204-1306
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: $134 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply elegant Bed and Breakfast located in the famous King William Historic District. The inn is two blocks from the Riverwalk, within walking distance to almost everything and a trolley stop around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing