We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After our stay in San Antonio at Eva's Escape, we found ourselves wanting to return simply to enjoy the ambiance, comfort and hospitality we found at this King Williams District B&B. We were welcomed with evening snacks and drinks, woke up to an amazing breakfast each morning accompanied by a personal story behind the meal and spent the day following the recommendations of the host, Deborah. The location is perfect; quiet neighborhood just a few blocks from the river walk. We stayed in the Magnolia room located in the front of the house and were able to sleep with the windows open (mid-March) without waking to traffic or chatter from the street. The compliments regarding our stay could go on; however, they would be a mirror image of the numerous other glowing reviews of Eva's Escape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
March is a great time to visit San Antonio! The weather is quite comfortable. You might need a light jacket in the mornings and evenings. Since King William is a great walking neighborhood, we are happy you had the opportunity to enjoy your walks. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    20
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
22
146
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We chose Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn (Eva's) entirely based on Trip Advisor Reviews and the fact that they had a room that could sleep 5 persons. Our experience there was absolutely perfect.

From the back story (sorry, you'll have to visit to chat with Miss Deborah to get the story), to the elegant 1920's feel, to the very thoughtful touches to make your our stay absolutely easy, this really was the perfect balance of a home very well appointed and a hospitality team that were as interested in our visit as we were!

Some of our highlights (in no particular order) were:-
1. Hospitality, Hospitality, Hospitality. Southern Charm just oozes. Their anticipation of our every need, and more was tremendous. Deborah's welcoming response to our every question was very re-assuring to have as first time visitors to an unfamiliar city.
2. Decor.... The entry lobby, living room and dining room are beautiful family rooms that have lovely bits of homage to Miss Eva. I loved the large verandahs on both floors and both Joanne and I enjoyed the Love Swing on the downstairs porch. Our suite was was meticulous in detail. Elegant, yet comfortable and very easily accommodated our family of 5. It was enveloping in its peace and harmony.
3. Modern amenities in just the right places .... The bathroom in our room was totally modern. Wireless Internet was adequate to the needs of my teenagers - and that's saying a lot. The combination of central air and ceiling fans worked well to keep the Texas heat in August at bay.
4. Breakfast... Very tasty, with an abundance of fresh and local ingredients, and served in elegant style. It was a breakfast that fueled both body and spirit for a long day of walking.
5. The Neighbourhood ... Eclectic combination of residences and small eateries. Within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to see. We walked back from the RiverCentre well after 10pm on Thursday night and found nice pockets of people at outdoor restaurants/cafes on every block. On Friday morning we encountered nice neighbours who greeted us as we sat on the porch.

There's more but we think you really need to visit Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn to really get the full appreciation!

Robert & Joanne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boops157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Where does the time go? It only seems like yesterday your family graced our inn with your presence. Each guest holds a special place in our hearts and your familly is no exception. Thank you for the wonderful tips you gave to other TripAdvisor readers. We hope to see you on your next visit to Texas in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the sumptuously decorated rooms, to the plethora and quality amenities, to the food, the the impeccable cleanliness...Eva's Escape was a joy from the moment we walked in the door.

The staff were incredibly warm and gracious and the rooms were incredibly beautiful. Why spend twice the money on a corporate hotel downtown? Eva's is a 12-15 minute walk along the river to the Riverwalk, away from the noise and busy foot traffic of downtown.

We are looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy-lynnCSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the tips you left for other visitors. We appreciate your business and providing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Absolutely beautiful Bed & Breakfast inside and out! And the staff, especially Deborah and Nola, could not have been more pleasant, helpful and professional. Located in the beautiful King William District of San Antonio, it is within walking distance of excellent restaurants and entertainment. Also a beautiful two and a half block walk to the Riverwalk. This part of the Riverwalk is not the crowded commercial part, but a beautiful stroll along the river through the historical neighborhood of San Antonio. Very quiet and safe all day and night. But then a 10 minute walk to the commercial part if you desire. The house is beautifully decorated and has all the accommodations. And the breakfast is superb. If you're going to San Antonio, we highly recommend Eva's Escape. The price is very reasonable and everything is first class. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My son and I booked ‘Eva’s Escape’ for two nights based on the glowing reviews we read on-line. It lived up to the hype and surpassed our expectations. Our hostess, Deborah, and her team, are warm and charming individuals. The house is gorgeous. Built at the turn of the 19th century, it lives and breathes history. The furnishings are exquisite. There are so many little details that Eva’s Escape does well that are impossible to list in a short review. Deborah’s breakfasts are fantastic, the desserts and wine in the evening were delicious, etc. Nice neighborhood, good location. Convention center is 10 minute walk away. There is a bike rental station two blocks away which is an ideal way to tour the city. Rosario’s restaurant is nearby and is well known for its excellent cuisine—get there early. Eva’s Escape really made our trip a memorable one. Thank You, Deborah and your team.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Desert Blossom suite which had two bedrooms and a living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

i helped my dearest friend select Eva's Escape for a weekend getaway to celebrate her birthday. I can't say enough about the attention to detail, flexibility and deep desire to create an amazing experience that the team at Eva's Escape dedicated to my friend. From the moment she walked in through the follow up note that I received, Deborah and her team demonstrated a level of service that I usually only read about in East Coast magazines. My friend says she'll never stay at a big-box hotel again when she's in the San Antonio area. Her first choice, and mine...will be Eva's Escape.

Room Tip: The suite has more than enough room for multiple guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSherardFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had set out to look for a hotel in downtown San Antonio for my husband's 75th birthday. We have stayed in several old, beautiful hotels--La Mansión Del Río Omni, The Menger, and The St. Anthony--and this time I wanted something different. Cruising through the Internet, I discovered this little gem called “Eva’s Escape at The Gardenia Inn.” What a charming B&B, how lucky could we get! As soon as we walked into the inn, Deborah gave us personal, intimate service until the very end. It is a three-story house restored to its original glory, with dark wood floors, gilt mirrors, doors with oval glass openings, filmy lace curtains at each tall window, and vintage furniture. There are five rooms, each decorated with chests of drawers, four-poster beds with lacy bedding, and deep claw foot tubs. The living room has Victorian sofas and gorgeous bookcases filled with books and guides. The dining room table is set with chargers, silverware, lacy tablecloth, and a sideboard with cups, coffee, and herbal teas. Before we left for our dinner, Deborah set out refreshments in the front parlor: strawberry cheesecake bites, a plate of mixed salted nuts, and a bottle of champagne. After our dinner we had to partake, of course! Delicious.

For breakfast the next morning, my husband started with coffee, wonderfully and silky strong, and for me a peach herbal tea. Deborah first began with a small bowl of fresh fruit drizzled in its own juices--the fruit was ripe and wonderfully fresh. The rest of the breakfast was fabulous--organic orange juice, turkey sausage links, delicious carrot cake pancakes with a dollop of whipped cream cheese, and maple syrup. We had a relaxing breakfast, and a delightful camaraderie, chatting and swapping stories with three other guests. What a wonderful time we had...

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is lovely; however, the shower is very small. So we walked one flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,443 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn

Property: Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Address: 307 Beauregard, San Antonio, TX 78204-1306
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply elegant Bed and Breakfast located in the famous King William Historic District. The inn is two blocks from the Riverwalk, within walking distance to almost everything and a trolley stop around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing