We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the gem of king william area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
thousand oaks, ca
2 reviews
“the gem of king william area”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

By far the best way to celebrate a 50th birthday and spend a girl's weekend in San Antonio! We were given a tour of the beautiful inn, shown our room and welcomed with a bottle of Champagne! Breakfast was delicious and served with such elegant style and Deborah, the innkeeper, was so helpful with maps and advice on restaurants and attractions. Every afternoon there were wine, nuts, and treats to enjoy. Our immaculate room was stocked with waters, robes, drinks, and came with a complimentary movie channel. The staff at the inn were so kind and helpful that we all just felt like the luckiest guests all weekend! Eva's Escape has raised the bar for this avid B&B guest and I will for sure be returning to the gem of the King William area in San Antonio again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are honored you chose us to celebrate your 50th birthday. B&Bs provide a great oppportunity for intimate gatherings with friends and family. You are welcome to celebrate with us anytime! Peace and blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    20
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
22
144
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This had to be the best B&B I have ever stayed at. The staff treated you like royalty and the B&B was very neat and clean. The breakfast, which was include, was top notch! So many different visiting areas to include the front porch, rear balcony and lovely back yard. We will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Two rooms on the second floor have access to the shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuz1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during Fiesta. Staying downtown during Fiesta allows you to party hardy withour worrying about drinking and driving. Also you are close to the non-stop action. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Four of us came to Eva's to stay as we attended a conference at the convention center. It was a pleasant walk there and back. Deborah, the innkeeper, answered all our questions before and after we arrived. The whole place was spotless, and beautiful flowers were inside and outside the house. The furnishings fit the house and were comfortable too. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was excellent, and the little afternoon sweets the perfect end to a long day. My favorite part was, "Every breakfast comes with a story..."
You must take the walking tour of the historical homes in the neighborhood, and the walk along the river into town and "The Riverwalk."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmvanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit! Travelers tip: Complete an internet search for King William District, San Antonio. You should find the walking tour map (we have maps at the inn too.) There are also several other historic homes in the neighborhood to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Eva's truly makes you feel like you are at home. All of the little touches like chocolates on the pillows and the toiletries in the bathroom make you feel like you are in a 5 star hotel. Deborah is a fantastic inn keeper and her breakfast was delicious. She had champagne in the room as a honeymoon surprise.Since the AC/heat is a window unit, it was a little tricky to get a good temperature since it was cold outside. It is in a great location and walkable to the Riverwalk if it is nice out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the posting great pictures! We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary in San Antonio. We stayed here for 3 outstanding nights. This place is first class in appearance, accommodations and the staff. The owner/innkeeper, Deborah, will go out of her way to make you feel at home - something I believe she inherited from her mother! I had called her a few days prior to our arrival and let her know of the occasion. I had already ordered 2 dozen yellow roses (my wife's favorite) to be sent here but needed a 25th rose, a red one. Deborah was all too happy to help and also provided some sparkling juice as we aren't champagne drinkers. Our room (the Magnolia) was tastefully decorated and quite comfortable. I'm a big fan of breakfast and I was not disappointed! We also enjoyed the late afternoon snacks. I was absolutely shocked to learn that Deborah has only been in this business since July 2012. She is a pure natural at this! I don't believe there was an empty room any night we were there. Next time we're in San Antonio I won't bother looking for another B&B or a hotel. We've found "home."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and you can come "home" anytime you are in the San Antonio area.

Travelers tip: Staying at a bed and breakfast or inn is a great way to celebrate special occasions. Let the innkeeper know you are celebrating and chances are great they will add to your festivities! Everyone loves a party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved staying at Eva's during our stay in San Antonio. Deborah, the owner, was so nice and thoughtful. The house was gorgeous and just a quick walk to the River Walk and Alamo and has some really nice places to eat just right there in the neighborhood. We didn't use our car the whole time that we were there! And the breakfast's there were wonderful! Would recommend Eva's to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Manager at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We enjoyed having you as our guests.

Travelers tip: As Stephanie noted, you don't really need a car if staying in the King William neighborhood. If you get to the area and determine a car is needed a major car rental company is less than a five minute walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent a week in March in San Antonio, at Eva's Escape. What a wonderful experience!! Deborah and her staff made us feel right at home from the beginning of our stay!! Daily, we looked forward to her wonderful breakfasts (& interesting stories associated with each) and special treats at 5:00p.m. Our room was comfortable and clean. We spent some of our afternoons on our balcony enjoying the beautiful weather. Deborah suggested many good restaurants but our two favorites were Feast & Bliss, both close to the B&B. They provided a unique dining experience. Staying at Eva's Escape made our trip to San Antonio extra special!! Thanks Deborah and staff!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoySistinaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn

Property: Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Address: 307 Beauregard, San Antonio, TX 78204-1306
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply elegant Bed and Breakfast located in the famous King William Historic District. The inn is two blocks from the Riverwalk, within walking distance to almost everything and a trolley stop around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing