We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florida, our western vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Florida, our western vacation”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and myself enjoyed our stay at Eva's escape very much. We sent each evening on the balcony, which was accessible off our room through the window, very unique.
Deborah, the owner, was very welcoming and very informative about things to do in the area.
Food and service was excellent. Great location,within walking distance to riverwalk.
We look forward to staying here again when in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you as our guests. Hopefully when you returned home, you were able to share with your community your adventures traveling across the country. If your community has a newletter or a bulletin board, consider posting tips on seeing our national parks, camping, packing light etc. You can provide so much insight.

Again thank you and we hope to see you again if you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    20
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
22
144
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I started our celebration for our 1st year anniversary. We were so mitten with the beautiful interior and furnishings. The service was superb.The breakfast was yummy and very filling. We were pampered with all the personal touches. We have decided to make this our anniversary spot. See you next fall!

Room Tip: Every room has a special quality. Choose the room that fits your stay and purpose for visiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasWench65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your special day with us! We look forward to seeing you next year if not sooner!

Travelers tip: When traveling to an inn or a bed and breakfast for a special occasion, let the innkeeper know. Often times they will share in your special day by giving you a gift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

On our recent visit to San Antonio we had the pleasure of staying at Eva's Escape. Deborah, the owner and innkeeper was so very welcoming and there to help us with any requests we had of her. The house was beautiful. It was 2 blocks to the Riverwalk and a little more than 5 minutes to the main downtown area. The meals were outstanding and served by Deborah's family and came complete with a story every morning. Our stay was for 3 nights within a two week trip and we all agreed that Eva's Escape was the best accommodation we had during the entire trip. If we were to return to San Antonio Eva's retreat would be where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We enjoyed having you as our guests.

Since you spent two weeks touring the United States by car, have you considered sharing your experiences about the different cities on a blog or on Facebook? Listening to your adventures; the sites, sounds and different cuisines was interesting. I bet others would enjoy reading about your excursion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My daughter and I spent three nights here, and we thoroughly loved every minute of it. Gently rocking on the front porch swing, stepping through our room's special pass-through window to access the upper veranda, waking to the aromas of brewed coffee and the day's special breakfast being cooked, visiting with fellow guests, enjoying the fresh flowers throughout the first floor of the house, getting great tips from the owner, walking to so many nearby sites, being greeted each afternoon with freshly prepared treats, and more - - all of these moments contributed to an enchanted trip. It was truly an escape from our routine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We enjoyed having you as our guests. We look forward to meeting your husband on your next trip to San Antonio.

We are also considering your suggestion about hosting "high teas" and featuring our desserts. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Deborah and family do an amazing job making you feel welcomed. We were coming in from out of town on a Friday night and she stayed late to welcome us. The room (lavender) was great. Classically decorated. Clawfoot tub in the room. In the morning she prepared baked oatmeal for us with a fruit dish that was a great start to the day. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. I would recommend Eva's Escape to anyone visiting San Antonio -- so long as there's room for me too!

Room Tip: There are rooms upstairs with access to a shared porch. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio.

Travelers tip: A number of the B & Bs in the King William District have a view of the fireworks New Year's Eve. There is a great opportnity to enjoy the parties downtown and head back for a nightcap, New Year's toast etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just stayed at Eva's Escape this past weekend. I must say that from the moment we stepped into the home, we were greeted and treated as treasured guests. As others have said, Deborah is THE BEST hostess/inn keeper you could ever ask for! We have stayed in many B&B's and have never felt as welcomed as we were at Eva's Escape. We stayed in Lily, which wasn't my first choice of room, but the one I wanted was not available for one night of our stay. With the exception of a very tiny shower, Lily was a wonderful room! The bed was comfortable; sheets and towels were excellent quality; and while we brought our own toiletries, they provided everything that you would need and more. Bottled water and sodas were complimentary (and we drank lots of water) and Deborah always made sure we had enough. Also, not only is Deborah a fantastic hostess, she is a great cook, too!! The breakfasts we had were wonderful and each day was a very balanced meal that blended well together. We don't drink coffee or tea, but there was a large assortment available for guests. The home itself is beautiful, and it is in a very convenient location with plenty of restaurant choices in walking distance. I am sure we will be staying here again on a future S.A. trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island-wench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much. We look forward to you staying with us on your next trip to San Antonio. Remember if you want to come down for the King William Fair during Fiesta, book now. Rooms fill fast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was the most comfortable home setting that I have ever experienced away from home. Deborah was the best hostess. She has such an easy and comfortable manner about her which accounted for the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the home itself. There was just an air of total accommodation that made us feel like we were her only concern. Eva's Escape is the first place in San Antonio that I would consider for another getaway. I've already recommended it to friends.
Thank you Deborah for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much. We enjoyed you as our guests too. If you do not have April 2013 travel plans, consider returning to San Antonio for Fiesta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,447 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn

Property: Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Address: 307 Beauregard, San Antonio, TX 78204-1306
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply elegant Bed and Breakfast located in the famous King William Historic District. The inn is two blocks from the Riverwalk, within walking distance to almost everything and a trolley stop around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing