We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stay Express Inn Lackland San Antonio
Ranked #265 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed here while attending my daughter's graduation from Basic Training. Have had many problems in the past with calling and booking hotels from another country. But when I arrived, I was greeting warmly, the staff had my room ready without a hitch. And I was given a lovely and spacious room with all the conveniences I could want. The continental breakfast was excellent and fresh. And my room was always attended promptly each morning with fresh towels and my bed made up. For the price, I was expecting much less and would have anticipated paying twice the price for this nice accomodation. The staff were all very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiscoticos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

I cannot believe I was charged for these rooms. To begin with when I arrived I was to have 2 adjoining pet friendly rooms with queen beds they only had one room for me so they put half of my family in a room across the hotel. Then rm 253 bed closest to bathroom has a huge slump in mattress, the coffee pot didn't work was promised one never recieved it. The water was cut off with no explaination and hour later it is muddy or rusty. Then the power was out. Then I was was locked out of my rooms for a pet deposit of $25.00 that I assumed I paid for when I made these reservations. The hotel washer and dryer is on outside wash cycle very fast clothes werent even clean and dryer had to run 3 runs at a dollar each to get clothes semi dry. After I checked out I recieved a call from the inn saying my pet done damage to the hotel the carpet at the front door, This was already pulled up you tripped on it when you walked in and they wanted me to come back and give them $10.00 I told the man then they owed me a refund I was wasn't paying them another dime for the poor service and accomidations I recieved. I was very disappointed in the service and accomidations I recieved. I do not appreciated getting blamed for damage that was already apparent when i got there I have a very tiny dog (teacup chiweenie) there is no way she could have done any pulling up of carpet this carpet was already loose and the staff tried to blame me because I had an animal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRUETTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I check out tomorrow and although the saying..."You get what you pay for" rings true here. I still feel robbed! Mind you, I am a country person so I can rough it. I didn't expect 5 Star but descent. The first room on the bottom floor wouldn't warm up. Unfortunately, we got here during freezing cold/snowy weather. They moved me upstairs and although it was a tiny bit better, it still took a good 24 hours before the heater worked properly (turning off and on like it should). Something smeared on the wall by the door and a dirty wall by bathroom sink. Bathroom looked run down. Bedding adequate. Breakfast was just ok....frozen waffles, cereals, muffins and fruit. The refrigerator was cold and microwave worked well.
The neon green walls didn't bother me....just the fact that they were dirty and the ceiling panels looked terrible.
I hate that my funds were tight. I went with the closest to the base and cheapest only because I thought I would be without transportation for getting onto the base.
They have graduations EVERY WEEKEND! This place is booked and they should spend the money to fix it up. They are right outside the base and should show SOME sort of pride! If I had the money I'd buy this place and fix it up so the Air Force families would be PROUD to stay here. It would be patriotic and CLEAN!
I'd have paid $10 more per night and stayed somewhere else had I known it was this bad. And AGAIN....I am a country person....I'd have been happier in a tent and sleeping bag!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrelcrazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I would not recommend this hotel to my worse enemy!!! The room was very nasty.. tried to get my money back but being i went through orbitz it would have taken a few day's for the refund so i requested another room .. still very nasty i went to the dollar store that was right next to the hotel and bought cleaning suppiles and lysol sprayed everything down being i was going to be there for 4 day's for my nephews graduation... Went to the bathroom and there was roaches "German roaches" at that.. It is very convenient to the Air Force Base but not worth it there are better hotels or motels right down the road..

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The first thing we saw on opening the door was roaches. The smell was hideous.The bathroom hadn't been cleaned for a "LONG TIME". There were dead roaches and a dead scorpion in the tub. There was "NO" room service-no clean towels or sheets, no bed made. We immediately complained and set out to look for another room. Everything close was booked due to the graduation which we were attending at Lackland AFB. The icing on the cake was when the sheets and blanket got out of place on the bed exposing a grossly blood stained box spring where something tragic had taken place. The microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot were filthy and smelled horrible. There was a fast food sack with a half eaten burger in it under the bed that smelled terrible. We tried to do laundry and the washer broke down half way through the cycle, creating the biggest mess a traveler's ever experienced. I put the charges in dispute with VISA and contacted Carefree Corp. and was told there was nothing that could be done as the facilities are independent franchises. The Carefree Inn Lackland room photos we viewed on the Priceline web site were not of the motel we stayed at but of another facility. After complaining to Priceline, those pictures were removed from their web site. I will never stay at a Carefree Inn again as long as I live and will tell everyone I talk to about travel not to stay there either. My biggest regret is not taking photos of this mess, but we were in "TOTAL SHOCK."

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I chose this hotel in spite of poor reviews, based solely on it's location to the Lackland AFB. We were in town for our son's graduation. We checked in to the hotel only to find a filthy room, with bed bugs. We were in the room for less than 30 min. before we checked out. I captured one of the bed bugs and took it down to the lobby with me upon leaving and the hotel clerk did not seem surprised, nor did he care that we were leaving.

This was the worst customer service I have ever received, and made for a very bad start to a family vacation.

I will do everything in my power to ensure that no-one go to this terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lenae22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This motel was the nasties ranchies motel I have ever been to we stayed from 6:00 am to 11:00 am and were charged 80.00! We got in to the room and there was crackers on the floor, a hole in the restroom ceiling and the toilet was out of place! The sheets had pee stains they werent even white they were yellow and the top cover was the same way! It was so disgusting I wll never ever ever return to this place again PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF AND DONT GO THERE, BTW they only reason we ended up at this motel was because everything was taken

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enlrdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
#247 of 358 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
#207 of 358 in San Antonio
36 reviews
Far West Side
Motel 6 San Antonio West - Seaworld
Motel 6 San Antonio West - Seawo...
#245 of 358 in San Antonio
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Express Inn Lackland San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Express Inn Lackland San Antonio

Address: 100 Valley Hi Dr, San Antonio, TX 78227-4328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $47 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay Express Inn Lackland San Antonio 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Express Inn Lackland is 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB perfect for family and friends of LACKLAND Grads, 2 miles from WILFORD HALL MED CTR, 4 miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM. Relax in our large OUTDOOR POOL and HOT TUB. We have clean, safe, friendly business and leisure class accommodations. Extra large rooms with FREE high speed internet, FREE deluxe continental breakfast, FREE local calls, FREE parking, 25 inch remote controlled TV with premium cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish channels, microwave, refrigerator, blow dryer, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, work table & chair, electronic locks, bathroom amenities, self service guest laundry, pet friendly, business services including faxing & copying, handicap accessible rooms available, 24 hour front desk, daily maid service, convenient access to dining, shopping, golfing, Sea World, Toyota manufacturing plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, downtown San Antonio including The Alamo, River walk, San Antonio Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stay Express Inn Lackland San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
Carefree Hotel San Antonio
Carefree Hotel Lackland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing