We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but you can do better for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad, but you can do better for the price.”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

As most other reviewers mentioned, the place is dark. Not just the inside, but the outside of the hotel is also dimly lit. There are doorman out front around the clock though. When you walk in you are assaulted by a musty smell that I beleive comes from the fountain. We walked around lost until we finally stopped a guest and asked them where the front desk was. You must go upstairs to check in. As in most hotels I've stayed in the front desk staff seemed unfriendly and unwelcoming. The rooms are different in decor, but nothing as sheik and fancy as the website for this hotel would have you beleive. The bed and linens were comfortable, but the rooms were far from the slightest bit sound proof. We could here a couple in the room next to us, as well as people in the hallway. The distance to the river-walk entrance is very close. Out the front door, and to the left approximately 10 feet. You have to use expensive parking garages, or allow the hotel valets to park your car. If I were to go again I'd select a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,985
    545
    216
    132
    72
See reviews for
455
1,206
82
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My wife and I had a great time the staff at the Valenica were great, room very clean and nice The darkness of the hotel was very romantic would stay there again planing trip next year

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyntip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Hotel was very nice/chic we were just expecting more!! Location is good next too restaurants a cool club and coffee shops. Nowhere on the reviews did it mention a pool but I assumed it would have one as hot and humid as San Antonio gets on these summer months! It would have been great to get in after all the downtown site seeing! Also, the Bell service was not helping customers fast enough and valet was also slow :(. If this is gonna be considered an upper scale Hotel on the River-walk --they definitely need to step it up! We will try other Hotel next time . Disappointed since we travel to San Antonio A Lot!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLiliBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Great hotel!!! Friendly staff. Comfortable, quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The location is perfect. It's a wonderful place for a romantic get away. The servicescape and atmoshere is amazing, from the smells to the art work and lighting. Service is great and staff is more than helpfull. Just a perfect get away spot and I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandtheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We got a great deal at the Hotel Valencia by checking their website. Our room was $129, plus taxes. I had done a lot of research on San Antonio Riverwalk properties and the Valencia was near the top. Things did not start off the best, as we couldn't find a place to park the car to check in at 3:00 p.m. on a Friday. My husband had to drive around the block many times, as I ran up to the second level to check in. We found out later that the Dallas Cowbay fans were in town to watch the team practice at the Alamodome. The hotel is very trendy and the lobby is dark. Upon entering the hotel, I had to go up stairs to check in at the front desk. The lighting was poor and this did not make the best impression on me. There were two staff members registering guests that afternoon and there were over ten people waiting to check in. Once I checked in, I had to go back downstairs to find my husband parked on in front. The valet suggested we take advantage of valet parking, which was over $20. At this point, we were tired and let them take our car. We did have a nicely designed room and I loved the bathroom. The towels were nice and I loved the hair/skin care products. Unfortunately, someone had taken a hot iron and dropped it on the carpeted floor in the room. The impression of the iron was left on the floor. An overstuffed, leather chair was placed in the corner. It looked so comfy. Unfortunately, someone either sat on the chair in a wet bathing suit or urinated all over the cushion of the chair, as it had been wet at one time and now totally dried. I really didn't care to sit on the chair. The room really was neat, but needed to be cared for. Perhaps that is why I got such a good deal! I would probably stay here again, but check out the deal and the room before I settled in for the night. The doormen and valet were very nice!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach2travel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My brother was recently married at the Hotel Valencia. From the Valet to the house keepers I give kudos to their staff. The staff at this hotel obviously runs like a well oiled machine. The event was beautiful and created many memories for my family.
The hotel is extremely beautiful, clean, and all around pleasant. I have traveled to many different places and stayed at many different hotels but I am proud to say that the best service I received was in my home town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 04luis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing